My fur baby crossed the rainbow bridge today 🌈

in #payitforward8 years ago

I am literally at a loss this afternoon. My little girl, Lucy died today.

Lucy

A light sable ferret, she was a daily source of joy for me. She loved to romp and play. She often stole my fleece sweatshirts and claimed them as her own. A terrible ankle biter, she had no fear of big things like dogs or vacuum cleaners. Her tail would poof like a bottle brush and she'd charge after them with vigor; really having to concept of how tiny she really was.

But when you picked her up for a snuggle, she give little kisses. She especially loved my chin and nose. Have you ever had a cherished pet stick their little tongue straight up your nose? It's a very strange sensation, often discouraged but couldn't be helped. If she was going to snuggle in my arms Lucy was going to reward me with the cleanest nostrils in the county.

Here are a few of her foster siblings

Old Man, Bear and Evie


The Crazy Ferret Lady

At one point, I was called "The Crazy Ferret Lady" because I had adopted ferrets, rescued others and then people were dropping them off at my house because they didn't want to take care of them anymore!

I had ten ferrets running around my house during a short period of time. A few of them had come from abusive homes and were nasty biters until they were rehabilitated with loving attention, good food and plenty of run around space. A few of them were mature or too sick to find foster homes.

The journey of caring for ferrets came soon after my father died. I was in such a pit of despair I could barely find joy anywhere. In fact, I could barely work because of my depression and migraines. I told my husband I needed a pet and the next day I went to a local ferret rescue and adopted two: Evie and Stevie.

Evie. And that's Twilight trying to eat through the bars.

Don't let those adorable little teddy bear ears fool you! Evie was a vicious thing. I have scars on my hands from her. But she had been returned to the rescue three previous times and I could tell she had been severely beaten in the past by her behavior. Of course I took her home! Stevie was just an infant - barely a month old. What I didn't know at the time was Stevie was very sick with Pancreatic cancer. She died in my loving arms two months after I brought her home.

Their antics, thievery, and playfulness gave me permission to laugh as I grieved the worst loss of my life.

Twinkie and Old Man

I wrote a hubpage article about ferrets back in 2014.

Are you ready to adopt FERRETS?


Lucy

Just under 5 years old, Lucy and her cage mate, Baby Bandit, came to my home from a family who was "moving".

Baby Bandit

Truth be told, when I picked them up, there was absolutely no indication of their humans moving, but there was a very pregnant woman who answered the door as well as her adorable new puppy running around the house. But hey...I didn't go there to judge. I went there to take those precious furbabies home.

Of the fuzzies who have crossed the rainbow bridge, Lucy is the only one who did not die in my arms. I found her in the cage snuggled up in the sleeve of a requisitioned sweat shirt. I've only got three fuzzies now. They still bring me joy but Lucy was my snuggle bear - and my nostrils will never be so clean again.


This is a 50/50 post. All proceeds in STEEM & SBD will be donated to as as yet undetermined Steemit member(s).

The content is sad and personal that I didn't want to tag anyone in particular.

How can you help in the #payitforward initiative?

  • Direct donation - send STEEM or SBD directly to the recipient.
  • Donate proceeds from your post - Write a post. State your intention to donate to a person or cause.
  • Upvote and/or resteem their content
  • Share their post on your other social media
  • Advocate for your community because one day you may need them.

I will create a separate post for payout tracking so you can have a record of what's been given. I only have my integrity and my word; both which are very precious to me.


A public service announcement

Learn what Steemit Witnesses do and why your votes count.

Have a Steemit day!

#payitforward

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

My heart hurts for you. This is the worst part of being a pet parent. And we'd do it all over again a hundred times even knowing how it ends. The joy they bring outshines the sad days in the long run.

I'm sorry for your loss <3

Thank you for being her rescuer

I've been trying so hard not to cry...and failing miserably. :(

Crying can be good for you, there's no shame in it, especially when you lose something you love

I'm so sorry for your loss <3
She was loved and she knew she was - that makes you a superhero in my eyes xxx

Thank you @michelle.gent
I honestly didn't think I would come back to the post because I keep bursting into tears, but the outpouring is so lovely. I'm grateful to all of you.

I know how much it hurts to lose a fur baby. Take your time <3

Well thanks for that. I think you're the first spammer I've encountered on Steemit. Well you'll be pleased to know that you're now on my Muted list. Thanks, I won't be seeing you anytime soon.

I am so sorry for the loss!!! I love animals but am highly allergic. I have had pets against my better judgement, it harmed my health but I have tried - so I know a bit of how you feel.

I am glad you have people that care for you! We do!

It's hard to lose a pet. We spend so much time with them, they really do become a major part of our lives. We cherish their different personalities and all of their little quirks that make them them. Once that is gone, a hole is left that is not easily filled.
I recently had to put my dog down, and I know how hard it is. I feel for your loss, but at the same time, you are doing good by rescuing them. Never let the loss of them discourage you from the good you are accomplishing.

I'm so sorry to hear about your dog!
I've got two dogs and I love them so much. I know I'll be devastated when they're gone. I keep wondering why I torture myself with new pets when losing them is so hard!

I'm sorry to hear your sad news. Ferrets are such playful characters. xxx

They are! She made a "burger-burger" sound when she was playing and I loved how she skipped sideways. Always reminded me of a cartoon where their legs are going 100 miles a minute but they aren't going anywhere. Lucy was my sweetie.

I used to have pet rats, cute and very naughty!

😢😢😢😢😢
I'm so sorry to hear this @merej99.

Thank you for stopping by to comment @rigaronib.
The older I get the harder the losses seem to be...probably because family and pet losses are becoming a little more frequent. I don't know...

That it's definitely understandable! You're not alone. :)

Very sorry to hear about your loss. I hope posting about it helps ease your pain.

Thank you @bacchist. I've always had the practice of writing negative thoughts on paper then burning them. It does help to purge it out of my system when I write but, you know, my eyes keep watering so someone better stop cutting those damned onions.

Sorry to hear about the wee creatures passing.

Ferrets are in fact a great pet. The personality and playfulness some of them possess is unmatched by other animals their size.

Community is here for ya. I know when I've had pets go I always have my own little memorial service for them.

hugs

Ferrets are awesome pets. Playful like kittens their entire life. We had a little memorial for her. I kind of wish I was like a kid again. Bury the pet. Cry. Then ask mom & dad for a new puppy.

Yeah.. The concept of mourning is lost on the younger ones.. Oh well. Better than the reality I guess.

Glad to hear you had a little memorial. The passing of a fuzzy one is always hard but you'll make it through. Sending good thoughts your way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65