Pay it forward: Spotlight on for inspiring power of positivity and the people who spread it out to the world

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Of all #Ulog posts on July 18th, @headchange happened to pick my post. She commented on my post Ulog #8: Cool walk on a bright day then came @cicisaja who was saying @headchange directed her to my post through the pay it forward contest. I looked for the contest and to make the story short, I'm in! It all started with #Ulog.

The contest is being hosted by @thedarkhorse though I gathered it will soon be taken over by @pifc (Pay It Forward Contest). It is a curation contest where curators pick two bloggers with good quality posts and have reputation 55 or below. The curator then curates those two blogs into a single post and comments the link of that curation post into @thedarkhorse current week's contest blog. In a nutshell, curators are promoting the two blogs to others who may not have seen the blogs.

So what gives? Other curators in the contest will go through the curation posts, then down to the two posts that were curated and upvote the posts. Not only will curators upvote but they certainly have the option to resteem. On top of that, curators leave encouraging comments to further inspire the bloggers - which I think is also very important. The contest aims to inspire and uplift the newbies or those who still have lower reputation level to keep blogging and keep contributing to the community, thus eventually gaining higher reputation score. As for the curators, there is certainly a corresponding prize but I believe that is already a bonus to them on top of the positivity that they spread throughout the community.

And since I am in to the contest, here we go...

When I joined Steemit, I got welcoming and encouraging comments (the real ones, not the copy/paste thing just for them to upvote their reply), had 121 followers and reputation level seven notches higher at 32 in just a matter of five minutes. I actually captured these on my very firt #Ulog post. That was awesome! After that, things slowed down and well, what am I supposed to expect when I do not know anyone in the community that I got into? I wanted to give the genuine warm welcome given to me back to new comers because I can imagine the feeling when a newbie steps in, introduces him or herself and nobody reacts. People may leave with frustration and I suppose majority would not want that. So I thought of visiting https://steemit.com/created/introduceyourself every now and then to welcome new comers especially those with good quality posts. This is where I got to know @andyalaby with rep 25, and @daniel4real with rep 38.


On his post, About me- Introduce myself to steemit, @andyalaby or Andy as he wanted himself to be called is a young boy in Venezuela who wants to flee his country because of the on-going crisis there. In spite of that, he kept this head together and focused on the positive things on how he can improve himself instead of ranting or pouring out his frustrations about his country. He wrote a fairly long self introduction (which I myself was not able to make up to this time) with the purpose of improving his English diction. He talked about doing his best to keep himself motivated and get back to his feet from sulking possibly due to bullying in his younger days. He even relayed his funny job interview experience and how he made it as his personal motivation in spite of failing the interview. It looks to me that this young boy is keeping his feet still in spite of what life throws at him.


Daniel, @daniel4real, is the first son of a family in Nigeria. On his introductory post INTRODUCE YOUR SELF, he talked about the challenges his family had to go through, up to the point of having almost nothing to eat, having a pair of sandals is taboo because they can not afford it and having an umbrella called for a family celebration. In spite of these, the family was able to see Daniel finish through secondary school. After that, the thought of continuing his studies was far fetched. Daniel had to go for manual labor at a young age. He mentioned he worked hawking meat which made me go through the dictionary because I thought Hawking is just a last name. See? Something is added to my English dictionary 😃. He talked about a very bad experience that made him cry when cons took his hard earned money. I think I would also cry if the same thing happens to me in the middle of my life crisis. But then that was part of the challenges that did not topple Daniel down. Fast forward to present, Daniel achieved his tertiary education. Whatever has come between the hawking of meat and achieving his tertiary education, I am sure Daniel deserved such hard earned achievement. And that calls for a celebration. Praise God!

The world needs people like Andy and Daniel to make it a better place to live. Kudos to these guys! May their tribe increase and may the Lord continue to guide them through.

For those who want to join the contest, please find more details here: Curation Contest - Week 16 of Paying it Forward.

You can also follow through and join the succeeding contests as it happens every week.

It is a "Thank God, it's Friday!" so keep calm and whisper TGIF, Steem world! Have a great weekend ahead.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

"The good news of those who work in steemit"

Contact me with those whose steameit account has Reputation 30+. I'll get you 10 $ -80 $ free. Those who want to get it, call me You'll get the money by handing money to you. Soujag for limited time My Watsup number: +8801752100773

Reputation 30-49 = 10 $ free
Reputation up to 50-59 = 20 $ free
Reputation upto 60-69 = 40 $ free
reputation 70+ if = 80 $ free

Ahhh, you're referring to byteball right? But you said you'll hand the money. You can actually just transfer 10 SBD to my wallet, yeah? That will make things easier for both of us. And thank you in advance. 😂

Ahahah! 😂😂😂

What is this all about? About your friends you made or about the genuine nature of them?

It is the second one: the genuine nature of them. It is worth sharing.

Now i wish to see my face too in your post... Hehe.

It won't be hard if you post quality blogs that people will learn values from. 👍

People wont cast me in their posts...hehe. Its you i am requesting to.

Hahaha! Give me one good and convincing reason why I should write about you.

Hello There @macoolette!
I have given my support to your featured bloggers, great picks and I hope that they'll get more exposure from now on. really impressed by the second blogger, but so curious about the frist one, how he can manage his journey on steemit in the near future. Thank you!

Yes, the first blogger may have more challenges. But with his positive attitude and with the help people around him, like us who are helping in our own little ways, I believe he will be able to hurdle whatever road blocks that come his way.

Thank you for your support @dipoabasch!

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi there. I love your entry! I really like how you described the Pay It Forward Contest. I think you captured the spirit of the project perfectly.
I will be visiting you featured bloggers later today. I can already tell you have found some good ones.
Also thanks for the shout out!

I am glad you liked it. That would challenge me more to continue doing so. Thank you. 😊

Well done @macoolette😉 really nice to see you joined the contest now😙 thank you for mentioned me and I will check on your featured bloggers and wait for my upvote later in a couple hours😉

You're welcome and thank you too! 😊

Thank you for your entry! I have visited both entries and upvoted their posts along with your comment letting them know they were featured. Hope you join us again next week!

You're welcome! I will do my best to join for as much as I can.

I supported your featured posts
Thank you for you great entries. and look forward to many more entries from you

Thank you @wolfhart. I will do my best to join as much as I can.

I like this post very much. Thank you for your motivation, and thanks for dedicated us this post, it’s a great honor to be here. You're amazing, and good person ♥

I'm glad that you very much appreciate my post. Thank you for your kind words and compliments. 😊

Thank you for your entry @macoolette and for focusing on our newer folks here too :) I'm going to pay them a visit now :)

I just thought that if there is anyone out there who needs boosting the most then that would be the newbies. Thank you for your support @lynncoyle1.

Good idea then @macoolette 😅 You are most welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79