Pay it forward: a future architect, a gardener and a music lover

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Pay it forward.jpg

Pay it Forward Curation Contest is now on its 21st week and we have a new rule: bonus blogger! The purpose of the contest is to help newbies get up and have more exposure within the Steemit community. It is a humbling and generous initiative so I am inviting everyone to join. Click here for the details of the contest.

I was already in front of Steemit when the announcement for week 21 contest came out so I went right on scouting for quality posts. One thing that struck me with the announcement is the bonus blogger that should come from the introduction tag.

My very first two entries to this contest came from #introduceyourself tag. That is because when I learned about the purpose of this contest is to boost newbies, I thought that if anyone needs help the most then those will be the ones who have just joined Steemit. That is why I scouted for posts to feature from the introduction tag. I am very happy that this is taken into consideration for this week. I wonder if this will go on every week but I’ll just grab the opportunity. Actually, all my three featured posts for this week are from #introduceyourself tag. Here they are...

@tanyaru(28)

Photo from the original post.

Nim is a 15-year old student in Bangkok, Thailand. I am amused to read that it was her teacher who told her to join Steemit. That is cool. In her self-introduction, she shared her drawings of interior designs which I can say is almost of the same quality of drawing that I asked a licensed architect to draw for me few years ago. That is amazing for a 15-year old. What I also admire with this young lady is how she manages getting back to her bullies by showing her talent instead of bullying them back.

@nhogarden (26)

Photo from the original post.

Thuy is from Kon Tum province in Vietnam with a degree in Forestry. Her love for nature, specifically trees, led her to opening a bonsai shop in Da Nang City. She added succulents which supplements the bonsai in her shop. To me, that is bringing the forest in the middle of concrete jungle, at the very least, which is very good. She dreams of widening her garden and putting up a coffee shop in the garden.

@alaisclay (25)

Photo from the original post.

Alais Clay is the bonus blogger. She is a musician who was born in Colombia. Her Steemit account has been created months ago but apparently, it is only lately that she is posting. Her self-introduction is actually her first post. She is generally the quiet type but displays otherwise in public during her performances.


Join #ccc and get guaranteed daily income and payout for newbies by following the honor code - The Creed - with conditions and limitations. Click here for the details.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Visits have been made. you found some really great posts again this time.

Thank you for your support @headchange! 😊

Excellent picks, @macoolette! I've supported all three of your chosen bloggers! 😉

Yay, thank you @trincowski! That was quick and generous of you. 😊

cool... you're just so smart to choose all the optional bloggers to be featured, great pick anyway.. done my support on all of them, good luck @macoolette!

Well, it just so happen that I found good posts under that tag. I actually had a different first featured author. My original title was "... a warrior, a gardener and a music lover" but I changed my mind when I got back to the warrior post and estimated payout suddenly jumped to $6+. I thought the author may have used paid upvoting and I do not like to feature someone who does that.

I do not have any issue if authors use paid upvoting but I do not enter them into a contest because the paid upvoting can affect judgment.

Thanks for all your support!

I managed to look up two of your entries - and I follow both of them now :) - great findings!!

Thank you. 😊

Great PiFC post. I enjoyed getting to know a little about the people you nominated. Excellent picks. I showed them some support as well

Thanks again for your support. 😊

Thank you for your entry and the extra effort to go into the intro tags and find some quality newbies.

You're welcome. And thank you too.

Comment and upvote all 3 entries. You really lucked out and found some decent ones. I encouraged each of them to check out @pifc it will help them in the long run.

Don't forget though @pifc is not just for newbies. Our aim is building others up who seem lost in the shuffle we're aiming for retention and help build a good minnow class that will stay past 3 months. So many make promises to newbies but very few actually help develop them. @minnowbuilder will work on that aspect. I only mention this because of this comment.

That is because when I learned about the purpose of this contest is to boost newbies

Keep up the great work you have had some excellent features and we are very happy to have someone so eager to help others.

No worries. In the very beginning it was pretty much about just newbies. Then we've realized the bigger problem of retention on the platform. So many drop off after 2-3 months. It is more work than they thought. So we decided to make the pool larger so to speak. When I was posting my features, I was also working with another group that only wanted newbies. So I was looking at both. I personally tired to focus on people like myself that were kind of stuck, not growing, not getting any visibility. I just didn't want you to think you have to stick with just newbies and miss out on some other great people. If you feel more drawn to help them, then keep at it. Having someone that believes in them is sometimes all it takes. We each have our areas we like to work in. Like @trincowksi posts artists of all types, that's his interest. I guess what I am saying there is no right or wrong. I just don't want you to put yourself in to a box when it's not needed. You do an awesome job of engaging and commenting. As long as you keep that up it will make the difference in everything :)

Thank you for your support for all of them @tryskele. And thank you too for the clarification regarding the purpose of @pifc. I guess I have generalized my own understanding of level 55 and below to be "newbies".

Amazing selection, reading every single of it. Thank you so much @macoolette!!!! <3

You're welcome. And thank you too. 😊

Thanks to your curation of my post a week ago, I have found the pay it forward contest. This week I entered as well. So good you told me about it <3

You're welcome. I will do my best to visit all your featured articles this weekend.

Have a happy weekend!

Thank you very much, have a great and sunny weekend too!

The first one is a long read. I would need more time to go back to the previous so I just upvoted it.

Yes, this is true, thank you very much you have supported it also you had not much time.

You're welcome.

I just manage to submit my entry, and check all of the entry, I wish I can support all the featured bloggers. I may need to come back tomorrow to read one by one, we have had a bunch of entry..:D

Good for you! I am yet to make my visits to entries from few days ago.

Thanks for the entry @macoolette! Dare I say you're one of our true regulars now?? :)

Thanks @lynncoyle1. Six entries straight since week 16. I guess yes, those make me a regular. 😊

It sure does @macoolette! Thank you again for all your support 😅

My pleasure. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18