Laughing at other people's misfortune

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

sometimes you can't just help it

I remember while growing up we were told never to laugh at other people's misfortune(s). We were told that if we did otherwise something more terrible would happen to us. And as kids, we believed everything our lying parents told us. However, on some very rare occasions, we could not just hold ourselves no matter how much we tried. I just had one of those embarrassing moments now.

Reading @ajii experience in the forex market, link here, I could not just stop myself from laughing. Honestly, I feel sorry for him but there is something about his narrative--if you were Nigerian you would have understood better-- that really cracked me up. No jokes, I was really in tears, rolling on the floor. And now I feel like a horrible person.

I will recount my own experience. So when I was about 17 I fell in love with one beautiful chubby African queen, with her melanin dripping everywhere she went (too much sauce). I was mesmerized by her beauty and I went about preaching the Gospel of my newly found sweetheart to my own detriment and my friend's irritation. They all told me to calm down. I think they secretly envied me and wanting to see the relationship fail. Well, they got their wish.

After a month of loving, we broke up in the worst way. Being my first real heartbreak I was devastated. I went to my friends, with my tail in between my legs to pour out my shattered heart. To my surprise, my friends who I thought cared about me began to laugh uncontrollably after I shared details of my broken love story. Well, I had no other option but to join them. I was the joke and it was indeed funny. Well if it is worth anything, one of them experienced something similar and guess who was laughing his arse out--me!

There is no moral lesson to learn here and I'm sorry to disappoint you guys. Okay, there is one:

the best antidote for pain is laughter

Sometimes laugh at yourself and your situation. I remember the day I got the news that my father was dead. I called my father, Daniel, who had just recently lost his father as well. And my first sentence was:

"My guy, I don (have) join(ed) your club."

"What club?" He asked.

I replied: "the fatherless club." After which streams of tears rolled down my cheeks.

Some days when we are hanging out we crack fatherless-jokes, making the light a situation that has changed our lives drastically. It did help with the pain and in dealing with my grief. Although sometimes it overwhelms me, and there are a few posts to prove that, but looking at it now, it would have been more difficult for me to deal with my father's passing if I did not have those moments of laughter.

I'm not encouraging you to go about laughing at other people's misfortune(s). I believe that ancient myth to be true, so if you do that something really bad will happen to you, like a monkey coming out of your arse, just kidding.

©nonsowrites


Vote @kevinwong for witness

Go here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Look for @kevinwong and vote.

Alternatively, you can vote through Steemconnect here:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=kevinwong&approve=1

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I think that sometimes the hardest thing to laugh at is ourselves. We can really take ourselves pretty seriously sometimes!

Finding humor in other's misfortune is something that I've tried to hard to avoid over the last years. I have definitely been guilty of this in my lifetime - especially as a young man.

When unfortunate things begin to happen to one's self, such as getting older, or acquiring some disease or another, one really starts to realize how hurtful words can be. Unfortunately it is the case that people can often only realize the error of their ways after being on the other side of the joke!

@nuthman you're making me feel bad for laughing. But I get your point. But in this case, it wasn't his situation I was laughing at but the way he narrated the event. I think they are both different things

I didn't mean to make ya feel bad! I was really just speaking generally. :)

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nonsowrites from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80