Cycling and Socializing in the City of Lakes

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

A perfect evening of cycling and socializing.

Cycling felt so good tonight I unexpectedly averaged over 15 mph for about 8 miles. It felt easy even though I noticed my back tire was a bit low when I got home. This car-free lifestyle is really paying off in fitness gains! When I first started riding this bike around Minneapolis I typically averaged 11-12 miles per hour on similar rides. I remember pushing myself to the max to average 15 for the first time a couple years ago. Average speed on a trail is one thing, average speed with stop-and-go city riding is a different thing... Progress feels rewarding!

On my ride to Lake of the Isles I enjoyed the company of my favorite guy. Then wonderful catch-up conversations with a girl friend while walking around the lake. We appreciated the flowers, trees, and lake views. (I didn't pause to take photos during our walk).

As much as I miss the mountains after three weeks in Switzerland, I do love living in a city of lakes and bridges. And I really love my favorite people.


Look closely at the above photo and spot the cyclists silhouetted on the bridge.

All 📸mine. Shot on Google Pixel 2. @mininthecity

www.mininthecity.com

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Enjoying seeing all your cycling adventures! What are your thoughts on the cycling infrastructure in North America verses what you experienced on your recent trip to Europe?

Also -- if you pop up to Canada here at any time -- I'd be keen to hear your thoughts on Canadian cycling infrastructure!

Hey, I appreciate all the love from the exhaust account and am interested in visiting Canada. I've been there a handful times but not for long, and not with a bike. Crossing the border while visiting the NorthShore of Lake Superior, sometimes getting food in Thunder Bay. I'd really like to adventure and sight see more.

Posted using Partiko Android

There's certainly lots to see up here! I'm actually waaaaaaay over on the west coast of Canada on Vancouver Island. Definitely some fun riding out this way!

As for cycling infrastructure in Europe vs NA, short answer is it was better in Switzerland than in Minneapolis. I haven't been around either country extensively by bike yet. I am working to gain the income to support more travel. If only Steem could make me a million!

Posted using Partiko Android

Good shots, girl! Lake of the isles is always a great spot for sunset photography. Have you tried hidden falls park in St Paul?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I agree LOTI is excellent for sunset shots. I didn't take any this time around but I'm sure there will be more in my future :) I appreciate the reminder about Hidden Falls! I haven't gone in years. How is your summer going?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, you'll see in a few days... ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @mininthecity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66