5 Basic steps to 10minutes Meditation

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)


(Source:pinterest.co.uk)

Acknowledging many different types and techniques of meditation this is but one of the technique.
Find a quiet space, sit down with spine erect but not too stiff and close your eyes (keep your eyes closed throughout the meditation).

STEP ONE: Prepare your body (~1min)
Let’s release some endorphin (pain relief hormone) and get rid of stresses by tightening and releasing our body muscles. Starting with feet tighten feet, calf muscles & knees, hold and release. Similarly tighten thighs & hips, hold and release. Now tighten stomach, chest & back, hold and release. Finally, tighten your shoulder, hand and make a strong fist, hold and release.

STEP TWO: Prepare the mind (~1min)
Let’s release some serotonin (happiness neurochemical) with Attitude of Gratitude.
http://www.worldometers.info/
For next couple of minutes feel (or say it in your head) how grateful you are for your life, 5 senses that let you experience this world, your friends and family, and anything you feel you are lucky to have in your life right now. For this you could say it in your head something like – I’m grateful for every cell of this body for keeping it well and healthy for so many years......I’m grateful for this very moment for giving me this opportunity to practice meditation and to know myself. THANK YOU!!!🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

Now the body is relaxed & mind is peaceful.

STEP THREE: Breath Meditation (~3.5min)
Now focus your entire attention around the nostrils and observe (feel, be aware) each breath as it goes in as it comes out. Mind will wander away in many trains of thoughts but just simply bring your attention back to the breathing. I know it’s easier said than done but with practice we can be the master of this mind eventually. Each time mind wanders away simply pull your attention back to breathing. Persistence without frustration or anger is the key.👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

STEP FOUR: Body Scanning Meditation (~3.5min)
As the mind goes deeper and concentration becomes stronger start this step. For this focus your attention to the feet, calf muscles & knee just feel those part or feel any sensation e.g. pain, warmth, itch or just feel those parts. Now mover your attention to thighs & hips and just feel those parts or any sensations there. Slowly move your attention to stomach, chest & back, feel those parts or any sensation there. Finally, mobe your attention to shoulder, hand & head and feel those parts. Now move your attention downward from head to feet (same as previous but in reverse order). Once you have reached to feet move backward from feet to head - keep moving like that for couple of round.

STEP FIVE: Compassion Meditation (~1min)
Finally finish it off with love & kindness towards yourself and others. For this you can say in your head something like...May I be free from suffering ....May I be full of peace and happiness...May all beings be free from suffering.....may all beings be full of peace and happiness....I pardon everyone who may have hurt or harmed me knowingly or unknowingly.....I seek pardon from everyone whom I may have hurt or harmed intentionally or unintentionally.....,

You can do this meditation for 10 minutes or half an hour or an hour as you see fit - just adopt the timing on each step.

Wish all steemians peace and harmony!!! 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♂️

(References: isha.sadhguru.org, www.eckharttolle.com, headspace.com, Vipasanna)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Fantastic post, there needs to be more of this information going around. I'm meditating still the moment, trying to overcome catastrophic thinking/thoughts. Maybe we could come up with a Steem based project to incentivise meditation and work together on it. Great stuff!

I really love that idea @luppers
I have been regularly (1-2hours per day) practising meditation for 9 years (having completed quite a few intense 10 days Vipasanna meditation courses. And just came back from another 9 days meditation retreat in Germany - the joy, peace and calm from meditation is just invaluable. And running meditation sessions have been equally joyful to me.
If you have idea for steem based project to incentivise meditation I would be fully on board with it. Let me know.

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow that's loads! I've started to do 20 mins in the morning. do you have discord?
If so, add me here:

luppers#5892

@luppers we have just started one! You are welcome to join us!


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, would love you to join “Mindful Life” @luppers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Amazin, just joined the discord!

Wonderful thanks @luppers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Joined the discord!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @bewithbreath! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great....🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♂️ Just finished my 2nd one hour for the day.....stillness ....
No I don’t have discord yet - is it worth it, I’m not particularly into gaming. I have wechat, whatsapp, viber, twitter @bewithbreath if any useful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, it is super useful. Actually it is unavoidable, it is Steemit's standard for communication and all services you wish to use on steemit require you to have a discord either for registration or for support. ✌️

Posted using Partiko Android

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 Will get it straight away

👍🏼👍🏼 will get it now and acquaint myself with Discord

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post, emphasis on simplicity. I have a very turbulent mind, full of ideas, theories analysis... stuff... I meditate but I do need to increase the frequency and really make it as a keystone daily habit. I have noticed that I have been reading so much on meditation, all the techniques that now, when meditating, my mind just clashes around saying: "concentrate on breathing... ok now feel the surrounding, no you should speak a mantra, no wait do not listen to the mind... just observe... you are listening to the mind again... focus.. front.. third eye... breathing.. no, focus on forehead". Haha, so I guess knowing too many methods just hardens meditation.
What I do, most often currently is just use Insight timer and do a bells meditation keeping focus on the forehead, listening and trying to catch my mind trying to convince me that it is me and drag me away. So I vary the focus tension from being really focused, blocking all thoughts for a moment and relaxing, letting them pass freely. I do not know if that is actually a method I just found it works best for me.
Any tips for me now after reading this ?😊
I have resteemed your post for more people to get to read this and start meditating🧘🏻‍♂️🙏

Hey @tribalwolf... we have created a space on Discord for meditators after reading @bewithbreath post... love for to to join us!


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83