Story Time- Getting to the Eiffel Tower At Midnight

in #paris6 years ago (edited)

Summer 2015

Story time...my friend and I were on our last country of our backpacking trip. We decided to travel 4 countries in a week. Talk about an amazing race type of trip. The order of our trip was London (England), Athens (Greence), Rome (Italy), and Paris (France). This picture below is of the last country we visited...France, before heading back home.

We had one thing left to see while in Paris...it was the Eiffel Tower sparkling at midnight... at this point in our backpacking journey, my friend and I were so dead from walking miles during the day wandering around Paris. Just before our effort to get to the tower, my body was shutting down due to lack of food and exhaustion. Out of desperation, we stopped at a McDonald's (I know, I know). My body doesn't make it and my nose starts to bleed and I can't stop it. I spent 15min in the bathroom trying to stop it. It didn't work. So that night, I sat at a McDonald's in Paris with a bloody nose trying to eat a cheeseburger to recuperate some strength. I bet we were quite a sight for the people around us. We probably looked like we got run over by a bus. It was rough.

After dinner, our bodies were still faint but better than before. On the train, we were dozing off but tried to stay awake to make it to the one last thing on our list. On the ride over from across town to the tower, we got off the train at 11:55pm. We bolted towards the tower. As we sprint towards the tower, it starts to come into view. We get there at 11:59pm. Barely made it. I had no idea where the energy came from to even sprint..guess the spirit of adventure gave us one last boost or maybe it was my Mickey Ds cheeseburger ha. Midnight hits, the sparkles are towering over us. The tower is amazing. Almost passing out at a McDonald's made it worth it. You don't realize how small you are until you're standing beneath it. So beautiful. Everyone around us staring at it in awe. We take a few pictures and admire the tower before departing to our airbnb. Once we got to our room, talk about passing out...I don't think I even took my shoes off. What a last minute adventure. I'd do it again. Who is with me?

IMG_4887.jpg

Sort:  

Nice picture! 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be kind to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Click the flag to downvote this @tomole444 comment and I will upvote your last unpaid post!

tomole444_flag.png

For the whole story see this post as well as this post.

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.

You can join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk to know more about what we do and how we can be of help. To earn more curation reward, you can follow our trail on steemauto.com or streemian.com.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

#altruistic-steem

Congratulations @erikagal! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @erikagal! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61852.16
ETH 2402.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60