The sacred wisdom of children: what can they teach us? PART 2

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

e&l-34.jpg

"Parents often think they are here to guide the little ones. When, in reality, the little ones come forth with clarity to guide you."

---Abraham

I was conscious of this before having children 3 years ago but had no idea how extensive their guidance would be until now. Last week I posted part 1 of this series and have put aside the 25 Steem earned into a steemit savings account for my 2 kids.

Screen Shot 2018-05-04 at 16.24.26.png

The rewards generated from this post and all others inspired by their wisdom will go into the same savings account.

Without further ado I present you ten more pearls of wisdom generated by my children:

e&l-31.jpg

1. No please or thank you - gifting economy

In a gifting economy these words are not needed. We teach these words because it is 'polite' but in truth we don't care. These are our children and we will hand them the toy regarless of the way they word the question. The point they bring up for me in their inability to remember these words (unlike most other words) is that they are simply not needed. To a child they are superfluous. And rightly so! If only we treated all other members of society as family, helping each other would be the norm and we could do away with please and thank you forever.

IMG_7166.jpg

2. Instant friendships without judgement

Leading on from the previous point I have seen the way in which Esteban makes friends with other children so quickly regardless of their appearance or even their behaviour. There is an instant kinship simply because they are human and standing in the same space.

The lesson here is obvious.

IMG_0548.jpg

3. Less conscious of tiredness when enjoying life

Esteban never agrees with our choice of bed time and has to be 'wound down' into a soft dreamy state with various sleep triggers. He is enjoying life so much all the time he appears to have no feelings of tiredness. Unlike us adults who do... and usually fix our tiredness with coffee or a siesta if we are lucky.

IMG_0599.jpg

4. Ability to sleep anywhere (without alcohol!)

Luna demonstrates this well by falling asleep at dinner time if she has missed her morning siesta. I don't see Esteban doing it any more but at a younger age there appears to be more need for sleep and when they hit the wall it doesn't matter where they are, they literally can't keep their eyes open. Personally I struggle to sleep if I am not on a bed. Something I aim to change now.

e&l-20.jpg

5. Co-sleeping tendencies

Luna sleeps much better when she is in our bed. With four of us however things get too crowded so we have put Esteban in his own room now. He has been great about this but does ask that we stay until he is asleep and often wakes in the night shouting for us. What this ultimately means is that he would prefer to be in our bed which in my mind is the most natural place for him to sleep. Sleeping in separate rooms is the first of many boxes around us which take away from our sense of community. Anyone from a poorer community will know exactly what I am talking about.

IMG_0606.jpg

6. Waking up at first light of the day

If there were no curtains in our rooms we can be sure both of them would wake earlier. They have been trained by us (perhaps wrongly) to wake up later, a few hours after sunrise. Personally I feel my body waking up the moment the night is no longer black and I am always out of bed hours before my family. Whilst I do appreciate this quiet time for working I am conscious that the most natural time to get out of bed is with the light of the day.

Esteban peanuts.jpg

7. Eating without tools in a non-seated position

We have found that when they are young, they are more likely to eat a full meal if we shovel the food into their mouths while they continue moving their bodies. It is when they are able to hold the food in their hands and move around with it that they seem most happy. What can be learned from this? We love our sit-down meals as adults but perhaps there is something about the movement of the body which aids our digestion? Further research required on this one.

IMG_5943.jpg

8. Understanding where food comes from increases the pleasure of eating it

Esteban is getting fussy now he is three years old. But I have noticed that if he sees the fruit on the tree before it is put in front of him, he is much more likely to eat it. The same is true for all the food we present him and if he understands where it has come from he will eat it. As such we have had the best success with foods we are able to grow at home where he can witness (and be a part of) the full cycle of life. It feels evident that more of us need to grow our own food.

IMG_9604.jpg

9. Not interested in sunglasses

I have already written the post on sunglasses and concluded with certainty we don't need them. They are tricky in the way they catch us because the more we wear them the more we NEED to wear them. Kids are simply not interested in keeping them on their heads for more than a few moments to entertain us adults. If a child does not experience bright light to be 'too bright' then why should we experience this when we are older?

IMG_0536.jpg

10. Instinctive love of all animals

With the exception of monkeys (since finding a big one in the house) Esteban loves all animals. In truth he still loves the monkeys but he is more wary of them since he could feel my fear in that moment. I managed to get this shot before picking up my fire stick to defend the family.

DQmRuKrQ7JbbCssciCNyYRPgbJjZLbc6v7PD144tZWuDBft_1680x8400.jpeg

One of my points in part 1 was that kids incline toward a vegan diet until they start mimicking our own eating habits. Esteban is at the stage now where he knows what meat tastes like and chooses to eat it when he can (which is not too often) but I am 100% sure that if I killed & chopped up a chicken in front of him, cooked it accordingly and put it on a plate he wouldn't eat it. Yet as I have already explained, if I pick a fruit or vegetable from its place of growth and chop it up, he is very interested in eating it. The message feels clear to me and I dearly wish I could explain to him the origin of meat without traumatising him, but for now I am not sure I can.

IMG_8859.jpg

Final thoughts

I encourage all parents to be conscious of the lessons their children are teaching and conscious too of the programming we have received from our own parents. We are not here to judge the past as right or wrong but to consciously evolve into ever more spectacular beings 🙏🏻

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling the world with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet SEE MORE

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

I love everything about this post, Sam - your gorgeous kids, the way you learn and listen, the 25 steem you have tucked away. Great dad, great post. :)

Thanks a bunch!

It's such a pleasure being a dad who has the time to make and record these observations :)

I have Steemit to thank for that.

Yesssss! Every single point is so spot on! And yes I can imagine his uncertainly about monkeys most likely comes from your reaction. After an incident where a dog attacked my moms dog just feet away from us I now react to some of the barking street dogs which leaves Kai unsure of them. Before that he would run up to ALL the animals! Maybe caution is good though? 🤷‍♀️

Love that you have created a steem savings fir those little angels and glad I can add a few cents here and there to it! Love to you all!

For sure Esteban felt my fear. I managed to get this shot before picking up my fire stick to defend myself and the family. He was walking towards us like he wanted to fight. That's how it seemed.

DQmRuKrQ7JbbCssciCNyYRPgbJjZLbc6v7PD144tZWuDBft_1680x8400.jpeg

Luna on the other hand has a thing about dogs and we are not too sure why. Whenever she hears one and can't see where it is, she runs into our arms in fear. We don't remember any particular moment which would have done this, so am left wondering if it may even be a past life thing? What else could it be?

Great Post. I have two children that I have raised half the time on my own since they were toddlers. I remember the first time I saw my daughters as whole and complete. I was going through my own transformation at that time as well. It changed how I would parent going forward. In that I started to learn so much from them as well.

My challenge has been that my views are quite different from their other household. If they were the same, I would have most likely embarked on a similar journey as your own.
I enjoyed your post and will be following you for new adventures.

Welcome to Steemit brother!

I sympathise with your challenge. Those who are able to walk the path of transformation will always stand out from the rest and few of us are able to do so without enduring some kind of persecution.

Here in France having unvaccinated kids is massively frowned upon and we have lost friends over this. My own mother as an ex-nurse doesn't find it easy, but she at least knows she is wasting her time in trying to persuade us to change our mind.

I can sympathize with your situation regarding the vaccination brother... My ex-wife, my childrens mother has a masters in nursing. She very indoctrinated into the system. It has been a challenge introducing her to functional medicine approach regarding the children. However, I have been chipping away at it...slowly but surely.

Sam, just check your steemd.com, is it something weird....?
Please just read this
https://steemit.com/steemconnect/@frdem3dot0/steemconnect-compromised

Utopian is underattacked....

I just checked on steemd.com and was surprised by one of the votes I had made. Pretty sure that wasn't me, so something strange does appear to be happening. I don't use Utopian. Let me know if you find out more!

your account is connected with utopian, try to revoke it

done. Thanks for that!

Sleep anywhere anytime without alcohol.. lol

It's not so easy! unless you are a baby... lol

Absolutely incredible and fun post 😀

👏🏻👍🏻👍🏻

I love everything about your post, you will learn and listen steams that you have ticked. Great sir great post

upvoted and resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15