Steemit savings accounts for the kids!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 16.21.24.png

In a world where banks no longer exist Steemit is the perfect place to open a savings account for our kids. Having watched the incredible rise of Steem over the last two years I can only imagine where it will be 15-20 years from now.

Of course, we don’t yet live in this world but we would do well to remind ourselves that the most effective way to instigate change is to live as if the change has already been instigated. The basic principle of Law of Attraction.

quote-you-must-be-the-change-you-want-to-see-in-the-world-mahatma-gandhi-283138.jpg

My story

I have lived with no bank account since I left the UK in 2013, tired of a life of financial servitude in London I craved something more and set out a journey to discover it. Today I have been living on Steemit for over a year and have now fully embraced crypto as my money system with which I am able to travel around the world with my family.

My confidence in Steemit and Steem is so great that I am prepared to store the majority of my crypto portfolio 'bank account' on Steemit as Steem Power.

e&l-31.jpg

I have two kids both of whom are very aware of my connection to my computer. They are growing up in a different world to the one I grew up in and I have no doubt that crypto will be as common for them as fiat was for me.

Intention

I am creating this 'savings account' so that my children won't need to ask me for pocket money. They will have plenty of their own already!

Why is Steemit perfect for a kid's savings account?

The most obvious reason is the ongoing inflation of Steem. Don't touch it for 10+ years and you're going to see some crazy growth. Especially if you're accustomed to the kind of growth associated with fiat savings accounts.

Further to this Steemit creates a focal point for the child's journey into crypto. If they want to spend their money they must understand the mechanism. If they want to earn more money they must get active on Steemit where they will further increase the boundaries of their understanding.

If they do choose to engage on this platform they will already have a long standing account ready and waiting. And perhaps, if I have been keeping the Steem blockchain up-to-date with my journey, they will already have fans here.

IMG_9380.jpg

What makes this savings account completely unique?

Traditional savings accounts, regardless of their rate of inflation, simply cannot provide that which Steemit can. As the savings grow so too does the voting power.

Assuming you are like me and aim to produce two Steemit posts per day it is obvious how you are going to benefit from a consistent vote coming from an account with SP.

Steemit rewards those who invest. It's as simple as that.

How to set up a new account?

If you don't fancy creating another email address and buying another sim card, there are a few places where you can do it more easily. Personally I enjoy using anon.steem where it is very simple to buy a new account, which if you are using Litecoin will cost you around $15.

Payment options also include Steem & BTC.

How do I see this playing out?

The first post was made exactly 7 days ago. A big thanks to @canadian-coconut for being the number one voter. The post was inspired by the wisdom of my children and as such it will be rewarded not to me, but to an account which will be for them.

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 19.33.21.png

There will be follow-ups to this post, also inspired by their wisdom and over the years the amount in their account will continue to grow and grow.

By the time they are old enough to care about crypto it will represent a tidy investment and perfect entry point to the world of crypto.

e&l-27.jpg

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling the world with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet SEE MORE

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Hahha nice idea! ;O)

It's not a bad one hey :)

My kids will be grateful for it I am sure!

yes indeed ;O) wish u much success!

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Excellent! Hello there @sndbox-alpha

I have heard of you and am very appreciative of your efforts. Great to have been selected for an upvote.

Thank you 🙏🏻

I always think that Steemit is the best income generator and savings for kids to pay off their college and tuition fees. Imagine when they start now, the accumulative income would probably help them so much more when they're older. That is why #teammalaysia started a #myjuniors initiative to bring kids to this platform and to showcase their talents as well as learn from the workshops we provide. :D

Interesting to learn about the initiative. A great idea. It makes so much sense that kids would benefit from Steemit, especially if they are contributing over a long period of time.

Thanks for letting me know about this.

Thanks a million for this post. Because of I'm mom of 2 year old boy.From this post, I found the way to create financial investment for my boy. This post also encourage me to consistent posting in steemit. Thank you again.

Pleasure to provide :)

Interesting, and something I hadn't considered. My kids are grown, and don't seem to be interested in crypto or Steemit. But I like the idea of starting an account for them now, so it'll be here when they decide to join.

How does this work? I open an account with their name, maybe using anon.steem, and use it to post?

Yes, though you wouldn't actually have to post from that account. It would be more about transferring Steem to the account and leaving it there.

oh, I see. Thanks!

Good evening I agree with you, we must think about the future especially the children's. good post

got that right @samstonehill.don't know what the future will bring and it is a must that we prepare for the future most specially for the future generations to come which are the kids.

Absolutely. It's all about the kids :)

Read my profile if you want lots of Upvotes. @a-0-0

brilliant idea. i have followed u. i like all your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15