Prevent “I Want it” meltdownssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #parenting7 years ago
2016_11_24_18_17_27
We have all been there, walking through a store in the mall enjoying our Saturday afternoon. We turn the corner and there, down the toy aisle is some helpless parent trying to ignore their 3, 4, 5, 7 or 9 year old child who is throwing a fit. “I want it, Billy has one, I need it”.
Sometimes the child may be hanging off of the parent, pulling on their jacket, I have even seen kids hitting their parents trying to get their attention. This continues on for minutes, tens of minutes, possibly hours or what feels like the entire day.
2016_11_24_18_32_20
At some point the parent has enough and turns to the kid sternly and give them a good “If you don’t stop behaving like this….” Or maybe they grab the kid by the arm and leave the store and their cart full of items in the middle of the aisle.
Other shoppers without children walk by giving the “get a hold of your kids” look. Other mothers walk by giving the “I have been there” look. As a parent all you can give back is the “I am embarrassed look.
So how can you prevent such a meltdown? Well there is not real answer. I think it is bound to happen with all children at some point in time. My wife and I did plan ahead and have had great success with Luke when shopping. Many people often tell us that he is well behaved for being in a toy store.
2017_02_12_10_20_44
Our secret? Take him to toy stores as often as you can. Make sure he knows that you are just there to look and that you are not buying anything today.
As early as two years old we would take trips to the local Toys R Us. Luke loved walking down the aisles and touching almost everything. Before we left the house we always sat him down and said that we are going to the store but remember that we are not buying anything today, we are just looking at things. Often we would pull out the camera and take pictures. He would say “Take a picture, maybe someone could get me that for my birthday” or “take a picture, maybe if I am a good boy you can buy this for me”.
2017_07_03_16_09_40
2017_07_30_14_14_33
At the time we started this the Thomas the Train aisle was the one we would try to avoid. He would spend hours looking at everything and at first would always ask why he couldn't get one. Things advanced to hot wheels and things were easier as he understood that we were just there to look. Then the Disney movie cars, then star wars, Pokémon, video games, Lego… You name it. Things have still gone rather well. We can even take him shopping for birthday parties with out asking if he can get a toy too. If he does see something he really likes he will sometimes say “I cant get anything right?”. I always respond “If you want to spend your own money you can go home and think about it and we can come back on a different day”. This forces him to think about the purchase rather then buy something on impulse. Often after he counts his money from his piggy bank, he will say "how much will I have left" followed by the decision that he likes keeping his money more than buying a new toy.
I know it takes extra time to go to the store for no reason, but it the long run it has been worth it. Everyone learns by repetition. It is just the way our brains works. If you can stay consistent and make going to the store and NOT getting something happen more often than going to the store and getting something, then you are going to eventually be on the winning side. This trick worked with our son Luke. I am willing to bet that it will work with your kids as well.

Do you have any tricks that will make parenting easier?
Share a link to your post below or tag #steemparents

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of steemparents and #teemcanada
Check out one of my Previous Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Excellent advice. I never thought of it as a strategy, but my kids have always gone almost everywhere with me. We also made it a point to not say "we don't have enough money," but rather "we choose to spend our money on other things." This keeps them from developing poverty mentality. I also try to connect with them when they do have meltdowns. I never cave to what they're wanting, but I try to ignore other people and give them the connection they're really needing.
We also had our kids buy a lot of their own stuff. My older two are 19 and 15, and they bought a lot of their own toys, especially the electronics. They learned to save. They also learned to sell used games and systems on eBay. Learning money management is maybe one of the most important things we can teach. Thanks for your post. Helpful as always.

I was never taught money management. It is something I want my son to learn. We will buy things that he needs but will make him save for things that he wants. Even if we split it 50/50, we want him to learn how to save up and realize the value in things.
The toughest part is that he is an only child who has 4 aunts and 3 uncles. So he has a lot of chances to get gifts and be spoiled.

Darryl

Yeah. I had to give up on trying to limit the grandparents. I just had to let it go. It was periodically way out of control. Luckily as they got older, they would ask them to help with one big thing. At least at that point it wasn't 50 million little things.

Maybe as a result of this my kid would rather get 50 million little things... maybe because he know his money will stretch farther.
Thanks for the comments

Darryl @dadview

Sounds like great advice, thx for sharing. We've been lucky not to have much trouble but we also only hit the toy store a couple times a year.

Good advice. I have a special child and she knows from a very young age, she can see and try to play but cannot buy unless as a family it is suitable and of value to her development. She has never given us any stressful moments at the toy shops or shopping centre. Because we told her we cannot afford all toys but if we believed she can learn or bettered her fine motor or other skill sets, we will be prepared to spend. She belongs to the high function group and she can understand why and now at 27 she can make her own decision as well.
Praise The Lord for giving us a beautiful and well behaved child. For that we are thankful.
@jackpot

God bless you.

Glad you stopped in to read my post.

Dadview

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48