You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prevent “I Want it” meltdowns

in #parenting7 years ago

Excellent advice. I never thought of it as a strategy, but my kids have always gone almost everywhere with me. We also made it a point to not say "we don't have enough money," but rather "we choose to spend our money on other things." This keeps them from developing poverty mentality. I also try to connect with them when they do have meltdowns. I never cave to what they're wanting, but I try to ignore other people and give them the connection they're really needing.
We also had our kids buy a lot of their own stuff. My older two are 19 and 15, and they bought a lot of their own toys, especially the electronics. They learned to save. They also learned to sell used games and systems on eBay. Learning money management is maybe one of the most important things we can teach. Thanks for your post. Helpful as always.

Sort:  

I was never taught money management. It is something I want my son to learn. We will buy things that he needs but will make him save for things that he wants. Even if we split it 50/50, we want him to learn how to save up and realize the value in things.
The toughest part is that he is an only child who has 4 aunts and 3 uncles. So he has a lot of chances to get gifts and be spoiled.

Darryl

Yeah. I had to give up on trying to limit the grandparents. I just had to let it go. It was periodically way out of control. Luckily as they got older, they would ask them to help with one big thing. At least at that point it wasn't 50 million little things.

Maybe as a result of this my kid would rather get 50 million little things... maybe because he know his money will stretch farther.
Thanks for the comments

Darryl @dadview

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48