My Family Bed Story -- How I Followed My Mothering Instinct

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

As a new mother, I needed LOTS of REST, and night times were made easiest for me by simply sleeping with my baby in my own bed, and breastfeeding whenever my child needed it.

photo credit

I would not have functioned well during the day if a crying baby was waking me up several times at night and I had to go feed my baby in another room, then wait for baby to return to a sound sleep before I could head back to my bed again. That sounds torturous to me, and more importantly sounds traumatic for the baby waking up alone and scared.

My baby needed to be with me for comfort and for food, and I really, really needed sleep. The beauty of breastfeeding in my own bed, was that without fully waking up, I could help baby attach to the breast, and then fall right back to a peaceful sleep.

My husband said, "Thank-You" to me many times because in his first marriage he often got elbowed awake when his wife was too tired to get up, and he would have to to make a bottle in the kitchen, get his daughter from her crib and feed her.

My hubby was AMAZED at how much simpler life can be for BOTH Mom and Dad to simply keep baby in bed next to mom where baby can breastfeed as needed.

But co-sleeping didn't just work for me and my three children, it works for around 90% of the mothers in the world!

Psychologist Peter Gray, says that Bedtime Protest is unique to Western and Westernized cultures.

I don't focus on what others around me are doing but rather act on my mothering instinct.

Although I had a bassinet, I only tried it a couple of times and quickly gave up when it was obvious that baby wanted to be right next to me.

For the longest time, I either breastfed my child until they fell asleep and then I laid them down in bed, or I went to bed with them and nursed them to sleep.

I have never put my baby in a room by themselves and expected them to fall asleep. That seemed cruel. It went against every instinct I had about how to ensure my child feels safe and loved.

“It's not our job to toughen our children up to face a cruel and heartless world. It's our job to raise children who will make the world a little less cruel and heartless.”

L.R. Knost, Two Thousand Kisses a Day: Gentle Parenting Through the Ages and Stages

I love how this statement by Grubby Mummy sums it up perfectly ...

"I choose to mother this way because it feels right deep down in my core. I don’t do it for looks and I don’t do it as some kind of sick self flagellation. I believe my baby needs me and that my night time nurturing is worthwhile."

You may have been told that bed-sharing with your infant increases their risk of dying from SIDS or being smothered. The facts do not support this theory though when known risk-factors are not present (see chart below).

A breastfeeding baby stays safe at breast-level, and I believe that if baby were to have difficulty breathing, a breast-feeding mother would usually be hyper-sensitive to her babies changes and wake up to assist the child.

"Further protecting her baby, a breastfeeding co-sleeping mother usually adopts a position that facilitates close physical contact and observation of her baby."

"She tends to keep her baby at the level of her breast with an arm between her baby’s head and the pillow. She also instinctively bends her legs completing the protective space around the baby, making it impossible for another person to roll onto the baby without first coming into contact with her legs."

Australian Breastfeeding Association

And there is one added bonus to night-time breastfeeding while co-sleeping ... BIRTH CONTROL!

I have not used any birth control methods in 14 years, other than breastfeeding. The pill has side-effects that I want to avoid. Nursing on demand, including at night, keeps your cycle and fertility away the longest. It is not fool-proof of course, but it worked for me.

After my first baby, my cycle did not return for 14 months and all 3 of my children are over 3 years apart from each other.

For me, the gap of 3 years between children is perfect as I wanted to give each of them maximum "baby" time before another child came along that might bring jealousy. It all worked out perfectly.

Each child left my bed at the time that a new sibling was born. They still continued to sleep in the same room though, until they were comfortable with more independence. There are rare occasions now when all three want to climb in the bed with mom for the night! I treasure those precious moments because they don't last long.

ALSO READ : The End of My 12-Year Long Breastfeeding Adventure! ... by @canadian-coconut

Find More Articles Like This at my Blog:

@canadian-coconut

Please Comment Below and Let's Have a Productive Conversation!

Sort:  

What a wonderful post! It brings back many happy memories of snuggling with my babies. We enjoyed the "Family Bed" for many years. As a Women's Health Nurse Practitioner I would teach my new mothers and fathers about the benefits of co-sleeping and even though that message got me in trouble with administration, I never wavered from teaching what I knew was right.

Another important mothering practice I taught my patients and utilized myself was "baby-wearing." Today new mothers have the advantage of the Sleepy Wrap but 40 years ago I improvised utilizing a shawl and it worked fine. I was able to carry my babies hands free and it allowed them to nurse whenever they needed and feel safe and secure. I never used a stroller and it kept my babies protected from people who liked to touch little babies.

In essence I taught the benefits of marsupial mothering. I would remind parents-to-be that their baby was in a close safe place for nine months with every need being met and the moment of birth essentially put them in a completely foreign environment.

I would ask them to imagine what it would be like if they were immediately transported to a foreign land where they did not speak the language... they would not be able to ask where the bathroom was or tell someone they were hungry for an apple.

Keeping a baby close by co-sleeping and baby-wearing eliminates the extreme emotional separation that can occur after birth. In truth, I think it also helps a new mother adjust to not being able to caring for her baby as she did when it was in her uterus.

Again @canadian-coconut This was another great post! Upvoted, resteemed, and shared!

That is awesome that you exposed some young mom's to this information. Thank-you!

I wasn't very successful with wearing my babies. I tried a few different slings, but they weren't comfortable and hurt my back. I carried my babies around a lot though-- which made getting a lot of housework done difficult -- but they were more important than a spotless house anyways ... lol.

n this world, there is a mother who conceived her baby for 4 years, the mother of imam syafi'i. It turns out that a long-term baby living in his mother's womb is a baby who will become a super intelligent man. Every mother who gladly conceived her child for nine months would wipe out all her sins. Hence the woman is the mother to her child, the mother who gives birth to her and the mother who cares for and raises her. A good mother will always give the best to her child.

I love mom, i miss mother, I Love you, mom

Excellent stuff. I was blown away when I moved here to Japan and found out co-sleeping was the norm. It's the norm like breathing air or drinking water.

It's strange to me now that I ever could have thought babies sleeping separate from their caregivers, alone in another room was normal.

I often ponder--a bit regretfully--how I might be a little less of an anxious personality type today had my folks not let me and my sister (3 and a half years apart) "cry it out" alone in a crib to fall asleep when we were infants/toddlers. So glad my child got to do it right, as nature intended!

It's nice to hear that the Japanese have it right. It's sad how crying-it-out is considered good advice in North America. We think we have to start toughening-up our kids when they're only infants.
I'm glad you figured it out by the time you had your child. Thank you for your comment.

If you were to compile these posts, eventually, into a book, I'm sure it would ease motherhood for many, save the lives of children, make the world a better place, and may even become a best seller. It could be called, 'How to get your children to adulthood alive, healthy, and happy'. This material should be taught to everyone.

Thanks again @lifeworship.
I am happy if I can help make it easier for any mothers or children.

Love this article. We co-sleep. My 1 year old can now climb on the bed and lay down motioning me to come snuggle. It just turns the heart to mush. It's her favorite place... our bed. Lol

Yes, it is so sweet. Thanks for coming here and sharing that.
I peeked at your blog and it looks good, so I'm now following you.
All the best!

Thank you! I followed you back. I love your blog topics as I sometimes feel like an outcast for choosing to not vaccinate our baby.

I'm sorry that people have made you feel that way.
I'm glad you are following me though. It's great to 'meet' you here on Steemit.

Great article.

I was always amazed on Fascistbook how many likes/comments when I would share a breastfeeding / support article or picture.

Have a good week!!

Thanks Barry!
Thanks for commenting and have a great week yourself!

Thank you.

I wanted to say, I see your quiet votes on my posts and although I do not hear much from you, I still appreciate your work and your support on here, too.

I really enjoyed your article and also miss those days to hold my now 22 years young baby girl close to me. For me the best time of my life!

Yes, those days go by all too quickly. What a beautiful beach picture of you and baby nursing.
Thanks for commenting.

Thanks so much. I breastfed her everywhere for 2 years. I had Tahnee also sleeping with me in bed until she was 5. She is more independent than ever. I ask myself why she needs that much distance. Maybe too close for too long? Everybody says it's just a phase. I guess so :) The boyfriend is so much more interesting for now 🙄

Beautiful baby! 💖

Co-sleeping is the absolute most natural thing for me. I breastfed for two years and we slept together in the same bed until he was about 6. It was some of the best years of my life and I wouldn't have had it any other way.
Kudos to you for following your motherly instincts. ❤️

While I am reading your post my little munchkin is sleeping right next to me. My daughter didnt wanna sleep right next to me. She preferred the co-sleeper. But I would have never put her in a different room.

"I have never put my baby in a room by themselves and expected them to fall asleep. That seemed cruel. It went against every instinct I had about how to ensure my child feels safe and loved." Same here!! I was so ALONE at that time. Every other mom I knew was doing it the "right" way. I was sure to smother my baby in the night. I was "spoiling" the child and likely ruining my marriage. -_-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79