Steemit Gems - Interview with @papa-pepper

in #papa-pepper7 years ago (edited)

The Gems

Within the Steemit community are people that add a lot of value, through their own personal posts and also with assistance to other steemians. I've only been a member of steemit for a few months now, but have had the pleasure of interacting with @papa-pepper on numerous occasions.

Simply put, he is a great asset for the community, from his advertising of steemit to his numerous contests where he gives back SBD to community members. He also goes out of his way to interact and connect with other steemians and not just online but in real life. He is easy to interact with, offers good advice and is a REAL person.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Click on any of those blue links and go check out @papa-pepper's page, you'll see he has been in the game for a while and that he is a posting machine, whether it commenting, replying to posts or putting out new content, everyone can learn a thing or five from him.

I had the chance to talk to @papa-pepper and ask him a few questions on a wide range of topics, hope you enjoy the interview and if you see @papa-pepper on the pages of steemit, give him a high-five or an up vote, whatever is easier.

papa pepper border.jpg

1. How did you first hear about steemit and what made you decide to join the network?

I first heard about steemit midway through last year. A guy I had known for years told me about it, and it didn't make any sense to me. How could someone get paid just for sharing something online. At the time STEEM was rising in price and people were frequently making hundreds and even thousands of dollars on single posts. The guy encouraged me to just take some photos in my garden and add a little about what was in the photos for an introduction post. I did, and that intro post paid out around $50 total. I thought, "How in the world is this possible?" I then blundered through random postings for a while trying to figure out how in the world it worked. I thought that if there was something that I could do from home to potentially help earn some money for my family, why not give it a try?.

2. If the price of steem ever reaches $100 per coin, what would you do with your earnings?

If STEEM ever reached $100 per coin I would pretty much be set, and my children would too for the most part. I would most likely keep living life the way that I do, though I would be able to help more people get out of financial bondage and I would probably travel a little more too.

3. What are your thoughts on Bitcoin? do you see it as the Myspace of cryptocurrency or the Facebook? or something in between?

BTC is an interesting beast, for all that it lacks, it is still the (almost) household name in crypto. I think it'll take a lot for something to replace it as the world's most valuable crypto, but with the interesting way that people are, I'm not sure it'll ever happen, much like I don't think Silver will ever be more valuable than Gold.

4. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

If I could have any super power it would be the power to help people understand truth, first off that it does exist and secondly what it is. Truth is not nonexistent and it is not relative, and many terrible things occur when everyone just decides to create their own "truth."

5. What is your biggest fear in life?

I think that my biggest fear in life would be failing as a husband or father. There are no people in the world that I will ever spend as much time with as them, and to fail in my own house would be a major disaster. Otherwise, there is not really too much that I am afraid of.

6. Do you think Donald Trump and Kim Jeong Eun of North Korea could ever be friends?

Do I think Donald Trump and Kim Jeong Eun of North Korea could ever be friends? I thought they were the same guy! LOL - Just a joke, but I think that everyone could be friends with everyone else. The only thing stopping it is them.

7. If you could meet any celebrity in the world, who would it be and why?

I'm not really sure that I would want to hang out with a celebrity. Not to sound petty or anything, but famous sports people make a living throwing a ball into a hoop or something. It takes a little more than that to impress me. As for actors and actresses, they are people who can pretend really well, and that's about it. Can I pass on this one? LOL. No celebrity for me.

8. Where do you see steemit 6 months, 1 year and 5 years from now?

As for the future, there are only a few possibilities. So far, we have done well on the hardforks, being that we have messed everything up yet. As long as we don't commit steemicide as a community, only two possibilities are left. Either steemit will continue to grow and more people will continue to join. Since so many people worldwide live paycheck to paycheck, I don't really see the value ever mooning per se, but I think that there is still significant room for growth. Many will just continue to get paid and cash out though, in my opinion. If something even better came along, then steemit may fall behind and disappear into the shadows. Though that would be sad, it still would have paved the way and been the first, and everyone would now have something even better! That's not that bad. And of course, some of us would still be here, steeming away and talking about the good old days.

papa pepper border.jpg

Image and border supplied by @papa-pepper

If you'd like to see more of the steemit leaders interviewed in the future, simply tag them in the comments and I will reach out to the . Thanks again to @papa-pepper for taking the time to do this interview.

username gif.gif

Sort:  

everyone can learn a thing or five from him.

First time I've heard that one! Thanks mate!

Sifting through your posts takes some time, but there are lots of gems in them especially the amount of other steemians ive been able to connect with because of you.

Glad to hear it!

Great stuff!

Definitely a fun interview to read, and some very thoughtful responses given. I think I'm most interested in learning more about @papa-pepper's view of truth:

Truth is not nonexistent and it is not relative, and many terrible things occur when everyone just decides to create their own "truth."

I tend to agree with this, I'm just curious to hear an elaboration.

Other than that, I think all of us have experienced a similar sentiment when first exploring Steemit. It's definitely been a great tool, and I'm sure it will continue to be great in the future because of users like you, @jasonshick, and @papa-pepper.

Thanks for sharing.

@tippy vote
@originalworks

I linked a video in another comment below that shares some of what I believe. I'll have to take the time to make a more in depth post on that soon. From your profile, it looks like we have more than just being husbands in common.

Thanks so much. I'll definitely check it out. Also thanks for checking out my blog! I'll let you know what I think about the video, and I'll look forward to future posts on the subject.

This seems like quite a while ago, but I finally got around to watching the video of you telling your story. I really appreciate you sharing your testimony. It's great to see what God has done in your life and how you've been able to bless others as He has blessed you.

It's always great to be reminded that everything we do is for His glory.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jasonshick to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

It's important for a community like our to heave leaders and people who are looking out for the sustained growth of steemit. Papa is a great example of this

Hi @jasonshick, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Mucho gracias amigo

This is great. A wonderful read, and full of insights about life, Steemit and Bitcoin. @jasonshick, I'd love to see more interviews with Steemit leaders, but I can't name them since I am still too green and don't know who they are yet.

It takes some time but it's well worth it once you put in the effort

i honestly thought I was looking at Johny Depp

I've heard that about ten times on steemit now!

Hahahaha. The johnny depp game is strong then.

I LOVE this interview, it's so honest and great to know the realness of Steemit.
Looking forward to your future works,
b.a.

Great interview. I like @papa-pepper's personality. I wish he had expanded more on that universal truth bit though.

Looks like I should! In the mean time, maybe this video will help a bit.

That is a amazing story. It's true once you accept Jesus in your life he can truly change you. He changed you from only caring about yourself to being a servant to others. I'm glad Jesus changed you.

Me too. If He hadn't, I'd either be dead by now or a jerk who was still alive.

Wow, this is such a powerful story papa. Thanks for sharing.

Interesting article - always interesting to hear the perspective of people that have been around here for a long time and who you otherwise may never get to meet or interact with!!

Thanks!

Definitely a guy you should try and emulate here on steemit if you want to be successful

That is surely true! I guess that it will be exponentially harder to build from the bottom now than it was a year or 18 months ago - but I guess that's what makes it interesting - to see if you can do it

Cheers for the reply!

I guess that it will be exponentially harder to build from the bottom now than it was a year or 18 months ago - but I guess that's what makes it interesting - to see if you can do it

Too point, but better attitude!

Hey, is that an autocorrect on your reply? I didn't quite get the meaning of 'too point'

Hopefully you mean 'good point, better attitude' but happy to be corrected

Cheers

Nice interview @jasonschick! And thank you to @papa-pepper for taking the time to do the interview!

As the winner of one of his contests, I can vouch for the validity of Papa as someone who wants to help the community grow! His contests are some of the best out there, and each one is more creative than the last!

Thanks to both of you! Glad to see this post in my feed this morning!

Thanks for the compliments!

One of the amazing things is he has a bunch of contests, not just the same one each week. It's hard to keep track of them all haha

Thanks for doing the interview. Always nice to get to know more about peoples opinions. I wouldn't want to hang out with a celebrity either. Seems highly overrated. We are all people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14