A Battle Tale of Disorientation

in #palnet5 years ago

Disoriented.
This describes my every migraine onset. It is the bane of existence for a migrainuer. I sit at work processing one call after another until the familiar feeling creeps up. I begin to lose focus in the middle of a call or sentence.

What did I just say? Did I ask for their address? Why did they even call? What do I do next?

I sit, terrified that I forgot to do something. I ask for a name again. I repeat myself to make sure I covered all my bases.

Health insurance calls demand my full, undivided attention, but I'm failing. I fumble through the call. My words aren't obeying me again. My mood plummets as I realize once more I am feeling the onset of a migraine.

Sometimes the pain remains at bay and just this disorientation haunts me. Other times this is the warning flag of impending pain. I grab some meds and down them quickly with a draught of water hoping to push the migraine back. I just need to make it to quitting time.

Having been a migraine sufferer since my head injury in 2000, many years ago. I am well acquainted with the many nuances of a pending migraine. Sometimes it's just a mood swing. Other times it's this other world feeling and disorientation. Most times it's a complete lack of appetite.

Life with migraine is never just black and white and every migraine takes a bit away from you. You develop coping skills to function in public. For me, I get very quiet and try to focus 100% on my calls knowing one mistake is taken seriously in my line of business.

I'm grateful for the botox injections every three months. They don't completely eliminate migraine, but they can reduce the number, frequency and the intensity of migraines.

One symptom is enough. The myriad of symptoms can become exhausting and every migraine free day is a huge blessing to one who is afflicted.

Of all my symptoms I could do without the disorientation and anxiety of wondering how bad will this one get and did I forget something important. Maybe one day the pharmaceutical companies will find a cure. I live one day at a time and learn to take care of me so I can be the best me possible.

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt disoriented.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That sounds terrible, being disoriented... I hope you work at home. That creepy feeling from one sec to another, without a sign I recognize... Next taking meds, hoping it will go away... Not.
I wish you strength and the end of migraine. Guess more botox is no option?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @wakeupkitty. I am actually going for more botox injections December 4th. It's very costly but at least the drug company that makes it helps reimbursement for my out of pocket. I would probably not be able to work without the botox every three months.

@wandrnrose7 I differs from one person to an other how much you need. Once had it against headaches and it helped but I needed twice or more the dose. Later I went to a different doctor. Charged more and it did not helped. After that I never went back. Good to hear it makes your life liveable at times and the drug company gives a hand. ❤️

You have my full admiration that you do so much despite having to deal with the migraines!

Thank you @mariannewest. I am stubborn and really hate that the condition can interfere so much with life.

You poor thing. That sounds awful. I'm so fortunate I have nothing like that to contend with.

Thank you, my friend @deirdyweirdy. I am just grateful my migraines don't land me in ER like many people I read about on the migraine chat board I participate on. Hugs. Thanks for the kindness.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44