Quick Garden Update: A nice little mid week harvest. My plants just keep on giving, and I am trying to do the same.

in #palnet5 years ago


20190815_141241.jpg

Harvesting

I have been super lucky this year and my plants are really producing - a lot more than a few others I know, and its all from dumb luck. This is what I picked earlier this week on Tuesday night - a nice little haul. Only problem I had, is I had just picked a haul like this on Friday - and there is no way I can eat that many tomatoes. I know many that grow your own food like to can, dehydrate and freeze bounty of their work.

Trying to give like my plants

I am OK with trying all of those, but right now I am actually really happy giving these all away to my neighbors. I have 3-4 neighbors that get really excited when i stop by with 3-4 tomatoes for the week, and tell me they already ate the prior ones.

Instead of growing my food pantry and stock, I look at this as an opportunity to grow my community and network. It is a amazing what a few little gifts of food do between neighbors and friends. I know in the past when we have received gifts like this we look for a way to "pay them back". Shoveling snow, raking fall leaves, hauling off the Christmas tree. Things that are small, take a little effort, but can make a big impact. My next harvest or two, I may look into dehydrating, or freezing for chili, but if not, I am still really happy providing some food for my neighbors.

Bacon

Side note, my wife has said if I make a lot of bacon, she can take are of a lot of these in the form of BLT's. Guess I got some work to do.

Grow on!! ~Senstless~

SteemSilverGold--Banner.png

Sort:  

Good harvest, just a little more to ripen.

You can see mine
#MyNaturalGarden
#MyNaturalProduct

Ah those are a few new tags, i will check them out.

!BEER

you just rose a upvote from @curationhelper thanks for post promotion. For Information read my daily post

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @eii, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our BEER Crowdfunding

🤤

Looks super tasty! I feel like next year is the year we are gonna try growing veggies. Not sure if just two of just can eat them fast enough, but it seems worth a try.

Worth the small effort - can't lose much.

Thank you senstless! You've just received an upvote of 62% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Nice harvest @senstless! Since we got our plants out so late, our tomatoes are not doing as good as I would like but we are pulling in a few tomatoes every week. On the plus side, the beans and some of the cucumbers are starting to pile in.

Right - sometimes it comes in so fast you have to give it away, but even that is a win. For a few dollars in the spring you can really produce a large amount of food. Not enough to eat off ( not me at least) and it would be a lot of work to process, but I get excited about doing more next year.

Awesome! The chickens planted a half a dozen tomato bushes.for us this year, and I just had my first ever homegrown tomato the other day. Definitely gonna plant some next year. Idk why I didn't this year. Too lazy I guess.

Posted using Partiko Android

Got to love those chickens, and I think we will be planting more next year. They are a hit!

WOW, impressive. I need to grow a vegetable garden!

I had another haul yesterday.. It's been crazy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80