The Digging-est Dogs

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The Digging-est Dogs


Double Trouble

Ok, so the biggest problem that I face as a gardener would have to be... these two scallywags!!!


Imgur


Here is a photo of their latest masterpiece... see that concrete block? yes well, they managed to dig that out of the hole that you can also see, just off to the left; placed there on purpose to try and stop them from digging under the fence BUT as you can see, my dogs are fazed by no mere woman.

Oh, and those plants..? hmm, that's ALL that remains of my attempt to establish something into the space that would hopefully (or maybe the right word here is magically) deter their digging... hahaha, but apparently that joke was on me afterall.


Imgur


diggingest dog.png
img src

They remind me of a dog from one of my favourite childhood stories, The Digging-est Dog by Al Perkins, about a dog who learnt how to dig... and then couldn't stop digging..! lol

Their other favourite past-time is the never-ending up-ending ALL my freshly potted plants and for the love of God, it's a miracle that either dog has managed to survive for this long as it is because no matter how hard or how often I try, it's...

Every. Single. Plant. Every. Single. Time.


Imgur

This was yesterday's effort, thankfully nothing had been planted yet


Anyhoo, I've found a temporary solution to this problem and as part of my recent act of self-rewardation, I've purchased a new B.I.Y. (that's build-it-yourself) walk-in greenhouse that I can use to lift my new pots up off the ground, thus keeping them out-of-reach from curious paws.


Imgur

Boxed, and a close-up of how it should look when built


Since it's a portable structure, I've already thought of a few different uses for it around the garden where I can use it to protect newer plantings until they're either better established or fenced off, but for now it will provide a lovely, warm haven for my beloved pot plants and perhaps, a whole lot of sanity and peace of mind for myself.

So, wish me luck as I call on ALL my IKEA building skills to help me out and I'll share photos of the build and finished product in a later post.

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

stnicholas2018.png level.png weeklyAuthor.png

Make your own steemitboard footer with this post by @arcange

posts.png comments.png upvotes.png rewards.png replies.png upvoted.png

Last update: 23 July 2019

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you @helpie, you support is delicious, as always

😂😂😂 boys! They really useful if you need workers to work on the whole garden ... they're just like tractor I think😅

I hope that the portable greenhouse will work better and they won't considered it as their new home too.
Good Luck!

my goodness, I hadn't thought of that... 8\

It should be ok BUT just to be sure, I will double check that they can't get in and make themselves comfortable. Thanks for the heads up ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your doggos look so pleased with themselves XD Like, their faces are saying, "There ain't no potted plants safe from us, jes' you see!" As if it's their business slogan XD

What adorable scallywags they are! But I can imagine the frustration, too XD

Good luck with your DIY plant house, @alphaccino.art !!! :D

Yes, I can see that too... they just need bowler hats and some business cards ;)

And it's lucky for them that they are so adorable because it's impossible to stay mad with them for too long...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65