Sort:  

Yes I agree. I also want to be able to sustain the diet for the long term. I am testing it and it is also in phases. First 4 weeks is conditioning the metabolism and habits and then the % of macronutrients change after the 4th week which I will share here. In regard to fats, I am having 4 fish oils per day, 1/2 Avocado per day and 10 Almonds per day plus all fats within the other foods. I am tracking it in My Fitness Pal app so can monitor if I need to raise fats which is likely and it will be addressed after week 4. It is not 100% full on ketosis diet to start as that would be too drastic a change for me as I think I would die on 5%-10% carbs straight away. :) I am also training very hard. Once/Twice per day. Will share the results as they come in. So far so good.

Where are you getting your information from? If you don't mind me asking.

To me, with about 18 years experience, that looks like a high carb, high protein diet. Maybe 20-30% of calories from fat at the most. That's about half of a ketogenic diet.

Basically it looks like a standard body building "cutting" diet. But maybe the phases are better?

I agree it is not a full throttle ketogenic diet from the first day. Christmas only just finished I think I would pass out if I did. :) It is however intelligently phased and if you see my reply below to @kiwideb I have explained what I feel this is. Appreciate your experience and I am sure it will come in good use as I work through this new experience myself. It does reduce to a 10%-20% carb intake from what I can fathom however I am just guessing at this stage as I have not yet recorded it in the app. I will refrain from using the word ketosis as to avoid confusion however I feel this diet will progressively take me to that state and in a way that my body can handle over the 12 weeks. Progression has to be the best approach? Anything else would be rather extreme and unsustainable I would have thought?

Most programs do it the other way, strong ketosis diet to begin with and lower as you become acclimated. But things can be done differently as long as they are done with knowledge and care. Where exactly are you getting this program from?

Oh no, I am not concerned about what you call it, I am just concerned for you. As long as you are being careful I think that's fine. There are many good sites to learn about low carb, paleo and ketosis diets, I usually recommend Mark's Daily Apple for beginners.

I got this from a stage professional of 10 years experience (Female). I am not stating it is a 100% Keto Diet. If I have misrepresented that fact I apologise. I am very interested in a 100% Keto diet and will be happy to be Guinea pig on next cycle if it is easy enough to implement. Do you have a reference to one here on Steemit? Thanks again for your input.

Will also buy some Ketone testing strips. Good idea. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70