Macadamia fat bombs

in #paleo7 years ago


The standard warning
for nuts is as follows;

"PEANUTS ARE NOT NUTS"

Thank you.


If you read my previous post on making Coconut butter bombs,
you pretty much know what I am about to do.

The main addition is the whole organic macadamia nuts. While some paleo authors are against nuts in general, others allow limited nuts. If you allow nuts, it's hard not to make macadamia nuts one of your treats.


First I put my macadamia nuts on the candy mold. Then I ate a bunch of macadamia nuts. Apparently 20 is a serving so I had about 20 and used 21 in the Fat Bombs, so let's call that one serving. That should be 20 grams of fat (for just the nuts), and 2 carbs and 2 protein. From my previous measurements for the recipe (which was short of making a full rack of treats, so just right for this), the macronutrients were :

1 tbsp dairy butter (12 fat)
3 tbsp cocoa butter (42 fat)
3/4 cup coconut butter (100 fat, 16 protein, 40 carb)
2 tbsp cocoa powder. (2 fat, 3 protein, 3 carb)
then add in 20 more grams of fat and the 2 carbs/proteins and we get errrrr....
176 fat, 21 protein, 45 carbs.
Divided by 21 is um... carry the four... Throw away the four, get out the calculator.
8.4 fat, 1 protein, a little more than 2 carbs

Mmmm, crunchy!


All images from pixabay or my camera unless otherwise noted.
Please try my Future History stories - Enmity

Sort:  

Hello @baerdric,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

If you choose not to receive any comments or TRAIL rewards from SteemTrail, you can reply with "Stop" to opt out. Thank you.

Happy TRAIL!

not a big fan of macadamia, may try this with hazelnuts though. Looks good!

I love hazelnuts too, but the point behind this is the fats, and as I forgot to point out in the article, macadamias have the best fat profile of the nuts. Very little inflammatory omega 6 but plenty of the monounsaturated fats that make coconut and olive oil so good for you.

Ah, Interesting, Didn't know that. I'm pretty young still so my metabolism is fast enough to deal with what I eat, plus I'm pretty close to vegetarian. (eat meat like once every two or three months). As such, I don't pay enough attention...
Nuts are a great way to get those fats back though, didnt know macadamias were better than others. Cheers for info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33