Paleo friendly chocolate treats

in #paleo7 years ago (edited)

The second type of fat bomb I've talked about in previous posts also uses coconut butter or manna. No sweetener needed for me, but some might like a little. Probably no more than a teaspoon of whatever you use.


The process to make these is so simple, I have plenty of room here to talk about the various fats I use and why you should not be scared of fats. First I put a tablespoon of grass fed dairy butter and three tablespoons of raw cocoa butter, which is the oil they take out of cocoa to make cocoa powder. Then I filled the rest with coconut butter, or the dried ground up meat of a coconut. On top I put two tablespoons of my lovely Ghirardelli cocoa powder.

Now, you will want to know that cocoa butter has a high percentage of palmitic acid, a fatty acid often demonized as causing heart attacks. But the studies that show that, do not include oleic acid, a fatty acid always found with palmitic which always reversese the would-be harmful effects of palmitic acid, here's an article with references to the studies. As mentioned in the article, even if you drink pure palmitic oil, you body will produce oleic acid to neutralize the harmful effects and leave you with the anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory effects. So it's all good!

Now you simply mix everything up and pour it into your handy candy molds. These have a little flexible bottom , so they pop out nicely at the end! Very cool.

If you don't have a candy mold, you can simply pour it onto a plate or a pie pan and crack it into bite sized pieces after you freeze them. Yes, put them in the freezer to make them hard. The cocoa butter will help make them nice and waxy hard, but the coconut butter makes them soft at room temperatures. Freezing them (about 15-30 minutes) makes them completely hard so you can handle them, and keeping them in the fridge makes them just the right temperature to enjoy.

So what did I have?
1 tbsp dairy butter (12 fat)
3 tbsp cocoa butter (42 fat)
3/4 cup coconut butter (100 fat, 16 protein, 40 carb)
2 tbsp cocoa powder. (2 fat, 3 protein, 3 carb)

I must have misremembered something because usually that comes out to a full rack of coconut bombs, but this only made 17. The total fat is about 168 grams, so call it 10 grams per bomb. That comes with 1 protein and about 2 carbs.

I limit myself to one of these at night but not too late. The fats really do seem to energize me and I have to have time to process that before I try to sleep.


All images from pixabay or my camera unless otherwise noted.
Please try my Future History stories - Enmity
Sort:  

Hello @baerdric,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Coconut fats are supposed to be healthier fats at least!

The only really bad fats are transfats. All the hyperbole about natural fats was misguided.

If life is just a box of paleo friendly chocolate treats, then I'll take three boxes!!!

They are certainly worth keeping in the house!

Resteemed!!!

Yay! Hopefully it will get the Paleo tag some attention too! Thanks again.

Those look really tasty, might have to send the partner a shopping list and try them out XD

Great recipe! Reads like "delicious" to me. ;)

They are really good, and help keep up the fat levels for ketosis.

I've been on and off on the paleo diet mainly because of the lack of resources at my disposal. Snack like this really sell the diet for those who aren't on it. Thanks for sharing this @baerdric. It's a real ... treat :D

LOL thanks!

The coconut butter (or creamed coconut) tastes so sweet to me that I seldom feel the need to use sweetener in anything I make with it. Though admittedly, I do often put a little dried fruit in, which you don't want to do with a fat bomb!

True, but I did think that dried fruit would do well in the cake I made the other day. But I have to just wonder about that, dried fruit is like crack to me. I can't have it in the house.

Looks good! I've been experimenting with making chocolate myself :D

These come out a little bit like a Reese's Cup.

I've been thinking about your challenge with ingesting them too close to when you want to sleep due to the energy that they provide.
Have you tried other versions of fat bombs that don't contain caffeine from the cocoa powder? I'm trying to discern if it's the fat or the chocolate that is throwing your liver into over-drive....I think it would be an interesting experiment. Blog post worthy...if you are game to try.

Yes, I get the same thing from just eating coconut butter with a spoon. Besides, the dose of caffeine would be really small and I am used to 5 large strong cups of coffee a day.

Caffeine depletes glycogen quickly. Glycogen is used by the liver to filtre the body's blood. We only produce a certain amount of it in a 24 hour cycle, so if you have used it up filtering high amounts of caffeine, the liver will keep you awake until it has enough glycogen to continue its filtering role. This is most commonly experienced between 3 am and 4 am. So, for anyone else who make read this thread and regularly can't sleep during that time...look to helping the liver out by reducing components that it must process. In my experience, caffeine, alcohol, and "over the counter pain relievers" are especially notorious for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38