Paleo Trail Update : March 6th, 2018

in #paleo-trail6 years ago (edited)

Is NOT EATING, technically a diet?

Extended fasting, intermittent fasting, 24 hour fasting, all seem to be part of the paleo lifestyle these days.

My personal experience extends back 50 years this spring. I first learned of it at a Yoga class at the Baba Sri Chand Ashram in Pine Hills Florida in 1968 and tried it out for the Equinox after a juice fast of three days. It made fasting part of my life from then on. Looking back, it seems like just a natural part of life to me, even when I have gone years without fasting, I always knew it was there for me if I wanted it.

I have not yet tried anything beyond a 5 day fast. I didn't see the need and personally I associated that with religious fasting, since that's the only examples I had heard of until this year. But some folks are seriously going without food for a month or more! Search "extended fasting"on youtube and you will see 30-60 fasts. As far as I can tell, the record is a little over a year. Excluding, of course, those who are not monitored and claim to have never eaten for decades.

-@baerdric


Please follow the Paleo Trail updates
and upvote, resteem, and follow the highlighted authors to learn more


Featured posts for March 6th, 2018


What Paleo does not mean!

@jdrn appears to be a brand new Steemit member and is posting on Paleo and low carb subjects. Please stop by and thank him for this timely reminder. I personally go for about 6 ounces of fatty meat per meal, but yes, several cups of leafy and cruciferous vegetables a day, as well as a rounding of berries and nuts for those less insulin resistant.
Mini Paleo Coconut Cookies

@paulawonder brings us another paleo dessert made with grated coconut and eggs. I use a similar recipe for making pan fried bread of a sort, and I'm happy without the sweetener. But how easy and fun would these be for children?

The Paleo Trail on Discord encourages great content creation on Steemit by hosting a community of paleo diet writers. On the Paleo-Trail discussion group, Paleo/LCHF dieters can meet other writers, get feedback on their work, and help others improve their diets.


Please support our paleo, keto, and LCHF diet writers
by voting, resteeming and commenting

All images linked from original authors or downloaded from Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34