I paint plastic toy soldiers! #5 The Demon Legions

in #painting7 years ago

Today I'll show you some of the Greater Demons I've painted throughout the years. Some of the photos are quite old and not the best quality at all (wish I was a better photographer with a lot better camera back then..) and it really sucks knowing how much I loved doing a model and not having a single good picture of it. Anyways in this episode number 5 of my super geek hobby I will present to you some of the generals from the Demon Legions army from Warhammer Fantasy (Age of Sigmar). 

In the world of Warhammer the Demons and Chaos are some of the scariest of the 'bad guys'. They worship four Gods all of which are quite unique and don't really cope with each other very well. All of them have their own signature colours and virtues.

We have Slanesh the God of Lust, Greed, Pleasure and Perfection. His colour is Purple or Pink. 

Tzeentch - the God of fate, trickery and schemes and magic. His colour is Blue.

Nurgle - also known as the Plague Lord, Fly Lord. This is the God of Disease, Plague and Destruction. His colour is usually Green or Greyish Brown.

Khorne - last but not least the most favourite, amongst players at least - The Blood God, the God of Violence and War. The colour here should be quite obvious - nothing else than Red for the Blood God. 

The Demons of Chaos are both part of the Warhammer Fantasy and 40k worlds and a lot of the models are the same for both. Almost all of the models I will show you today can be used in both games. Some models though are from other companies that have nothing to do with GW. 

Krull, Supreme Lord of the Dis



This is one of my all time favourite models! Sadly I had very little amount of time and not a proper setup to take pictures of it before I had to give it to it's rightful owner. The miniature is from Mierce Miniatures and the commission was for Dungeons and Dragons campaign, not for warhammer. I've seen people use it in Warhammer though and am going to buy one most likely for my Chaos Dwarf army some time soon.


Titan forge Demon



This Demon is almost as big as Krull and another amazing sculpt that came from the range of Titan Forge. It was from the same commission and was used in one epic Dungeons and Dragons campaign.

Be'Lakor Daemon Prince



This is Be'Lakor the first Daemon Prince. Daemon Princes are blessed by all four of the Chaos Gods and hold great power. The model was part of my first Warhammer army and is not in my possession anymore since I sold it before I moved to the UK. Love the sculpt and would love to paint another one some day doing a lot better job (at painting and taking pictures of it). 

Daemon Prince



This is a normal 40k Chaos Prince I painted for a friend of mine. I magnetised his arms so he actually has 3 or 4 different options for weapons and arm positions. 

Bloodthurster Skarbrand



This was one of the newer releases from Games Workshop. They made this one for 40k and the first photo I've posted for this blog is another Bloodthurster that can be used for both games. Models are quite big and pretty good plastic sculpts. I did four or five in total on commissions. This is one of the bigger Khorn Daemons.

Kairos Fateweaver



Kairos is the Oracle of Tzeentch. Powerful wizard also known as the Lord of Change.

Glottkin



The Glottkin was the big Daemon Model from the End Times before Warhammer Fantasy became Age of Sigmar. A massive Nurgle Lord model which I enjoyed painting quite a bit. Didn't have much time to finish it so all you can see I finished in only 1 day. Sadly back then the pay wasn't that great so I was saving time from things like covering holes and mould lines as you can see there are some quite big ones around the legs. 

  

All of these paint jobs I did a few years ago when I was painting as a full time commission painter. The thing with painting miniatures full time is that you have to lower the quality for the sake of doing more work sometimes. I was still in Bulgaria and we aren't known as one of the rich countries, so the hobby itself is expensive enough. Paying for a painter on top of that isn't an option for most and that's why my prices were quite low as well. Needed to squeeze a lot of work in a short period of time and often was left unsatisfied with the job even though clients liked it. The projects I do now for myself I can afford to take more time with and if you compare them you can see the difference for sure. I hope you liked the post though! If you are interested in the basic techniques I use to paint my miniatures you can check this post I made explaining everything. 

If you did enjoy the read and photos don't forget to follow for more, upvote and comment with any questions or thoughts! Have a great week and see you again next time!

Sort:  

How long do these usually take to paint? I haven't painted in a while but wouldn't mind getting into it again.

Well it really depends on how big the model is and what do you want to achieve. These in particular I wasn't spending more than a day or two on but they are quite big models. If I wanted to paint them now in a lot higher standard I would've taken a bit more time maybe or use other techniques.

Wow you are amazing us again with more of your great model painting skills.

The colours on this model are stunning !

When viewing your new series of your models, the model (painting) videos from Tested came to mind, maybe you are familiar with them?

Thank you! I haven't seen these I will check them out. Have bought quite a bit of dvd's of some of the better painters out there though.

i think you are already very good with painting!

(Maybe a next step could be not in the painting but in the plastic, something like in the above videos, painting limited edition, by the artist molded figures. Or making your own custom builds with varies parts, i read you have (to) many painted (Warhammer?) models, maybe a idea is to select the ones you don't like so much and take them apart and rebuild them into one big custom modeling piece, also safes some money and space , it would also be a interesting post if it has before and after pictures and the story about the models etc.) you have my upvote :)

Yeah the Diorama but that diesn't really save any space cause it is a big piece I can't fit in my boxes. I do paint a lot of different miniatures from different manufacturers. I do some sculpting and resculpting of models too sometimes. I was going to make a battle scene/duel for a competition but got into other projects and totally left that out. Might go back to it once I finish all I have to. What I want to do next is probably convert a full warhammer army into something else resculpting it and making it unique. Haven't decided what and how though.. got 100-200 models to paint until then.

Damn looks great you going to post more?

Thank you! I am posting constantly about old and new projects. I have quite a few more coming from this series of older commissions and I do a paralel one with a project I just started a few weeks ago.

Omg, this is so freaking insane!! I'll get one of them one day :d

Haha thanks! Get them.. I can ship you some to Russia cause I'm packed with way too many over here.. :D

i like your work and respect for working hard

Thank you! :)

@george-topalov Terrific write-up. Certainly This is often truth in each individual state. Upvoted.

Thank you!

@george-topalov Steemit is gonna adjust a great deal of lifes, it's transformed mine and several Other folks but that is certainly just the start..
Many thanks on your operate at the same time!

This post has received a 0.66 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @george-topalov.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65619.31
ETH 2950.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73