Introducing @paddlingnature!

in #paddlingnature6 years ago (edited)

I guess I should introduce myself. @paddlingnature is yet another personality of @artemisnorth. I'm starting to resemble "When Rabbit Howls" (a book by Truddi Chase and a very good read)

When I say kayaking is my thing what I really mean is that it's what I day dream about most often. I am drawn by water and the closer I am to it the more calm I feel. I often have dreams of swimming and kayaking and hate to wake up.

This is my old girl, known by many as my "Canadian Sombrero" because I carry her on my head. I simply call her "My Baby". She has served me well for over 11 years. The photo above shows her during her second season, with my little grandson, after the "flood".

If you were to ask me what type of kayak to buy I will always say a good quality, inflatable can't be beat for both portability and carrying weight. Many people ask me if it holds it's air. YES it does....unlike the cheap ones they sell at Canadian Tire. In over 11 years I have patched my old girl once, and it was a very tiny patch. She owes me nothing and I owe her much!

When I think about all the adventures and photos taken, this kayak has been the best investment ever! Every time I launch I thank my Dad. I know he would be happy that I spent a bit of the money he left me on something that brings me such joy.

Most of the time I grab my trusty Nikon Cool Pix 300W to take out on the water....or in the water. This camera was a birthday present from my Hubby....yes I thanked him! I love this camera. The picture quality is excellent for what it is and it takes a beating! And for an added chuckle when it's battery dies it get dramatic with it's "Battery is exhausted" message.

When I'm heading out in my yak to go birding I put my Olympus EM10ii in the dry bag. I love this camera too!

This is the bundle I purchased. Yes, it's the entry level camera in it's line but I have to admit I had my doubts and didn't want to "bet the farm". She has proven herself to be a worthy and quality camera. The lenses are cheap but impressive for what they are. One day I'll buy the EM5 or EM1, which is waterproof and shockproof, and a few Sony lenses. For now I'm happy.

So now you know I love kayaking, photography and birding. Because of these interests I'm an advocate of conservation and saving our water ways. There are so many ways we can help our planet, small things we can do everyday.

My curation efforts as @fiberartists has made me realise I love curating! @paddlingnature will be used to curate paddling, outdoors, nature, birding and everything related. So take a break, grab a coffee, load the Paddling Nature Ramble and come along outdoors with your Steem family.

Until next time friends...

Coffee Hour

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

Hello, PaddlingNature, and Welcome to Steemit.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, Stay Afloat, and Full Steem Ahead!

Happy to find someone who enjoys the water as much as I do! Following and I will check out your other account as well. 🛶

Nice, someone who are into kayaking. 🙂 Still I haven't found many kayakers om Steemit, hope there will be more. Looking forward for upcoming posts

Inflatable is my favorite kind of kayak. It's highly portable, can take it everywhere, and cheap, cost me less than paddles ))
IMG_1030.JPG
Photo from my 50-km one-day run down the river.

LOL!!! Good old Challenger! You are right about this one. Of all the "cheap" ones my friends and I have tested, these ones actually do hold up with a bit of care. In fact there is an old yellow one in my closet that I keep for a spare. NICE!! Thanks for commenting...I look forward to getting to know you.

Congratulations @paddlingnature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem Community @paddlingnature! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch


Welcome to Steemit @paddlingnature!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

(https://steemit.com/curation/@thesteemengine/the-daily-whistle-stops-issue-107-4-17-18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49