A few of My Over 20 Club freewrites with @mariannewest and @freewritehouse

in #over20clubpost6 years ago (edited)


Yay! I'm part of the over 20 club!

Please visit @mariannewest and @freewritehouse if you're at all interested in joining an amazing group of writers!

I am grateful to be a member of such a beautiful group of writers and have so enjoyed getting to know others here through their writings, and comments on mine, and for the most part, have enjoyed every freewrite :)

One thing about this practice of freewriting is that the daily drill (contest has helped) forces you to take the time to do what you say you'd like to, but might not if there wasn't somebody on the other end expecting your post.

The feedback has been very positive and it feels great to get kudos for doing what I love.

One surprising thing about participating in these freewrites, is that I'm finding my confidence growing surrounding sharing my creativity and because of this, have recently instigated and collaborated on a photo shoot of my imaginings and have started reading at public open mics again. Yes, I've been involved in creative projects and open mics before, but for the past year or more, not so much. I will liken the practice to lighting one creative fire and how that one starts the next :)

I am including a few of my previous freewrite's here, not necessarily because they're my favorites, but because they were ones that didn't get as much love & attention from readers (hopefully not because people started to read and left as quickly as they came;) So, if you find you've got time, enjoy :) And, as always, thank you so much for reading!

Eyebrow

I have a scar through my right eyebrow. It’s been there as long as I can remember. My mother tells me that when I was learning to walk, I fell down, slicing my beautiful, young eyebrow on the edge of a coffee table.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kimberlylane/eyebrow

Space Invaders

Living in the hundred year old farm house was a dream of ours when given us for $10 and other valuable considerations.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kimberlylane/space-invaders

Symbolic Freedom
Dancing Bears and monkey weddings are all about the news today. Terry Gross interviewing Witold Szabtowski about his Dancing Bears book in which he has compiled true stories of people nostalgic for life under tyranny; the premise being that freedom isn’t really what a lot of us can tolerate if we’ve been effectively socialized.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kimberlylane/symbolic-freedom

All as previously published on @kimberlylane

Sort:  

I just went and read and commented on your three posts listed above. I had missed all of them previously, and enjoyed reading them now!

Oh, good! Thank you. I thought it might be better to choose the ones that hadn't really been seen.

Congrats on reaching the O2C :) I've been away from beenSteemit for a few weeks and I really missed doing freewrites in that time.

That's super cool that you have gone out doing open mics again. I so agree that one creative fire lights another. I think it's probably one of the most beautiful things about this life of ours.

Glad to see you again and look forward to reading your freewrites because I think that they're really, really good and they spark me :)
A fire sister in writing

So glad that the freewrites re-sparked your creative endeavors!!!

Me too! Thank you for the contest :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67033.58
ETH 3521.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20