Eyebrow

in #freewrite6 years ago

100_2607.JPG

I have a scar through my right eyebrow. It’s been there as long as I can remember. My mother tells me that when I was learning to walk, I fell down, slicing my beautiful, young eyebrow on the edge of a coffee table. It had bled like crazy, as all skull cuts do, but had not required stitches. Instead, the doctor had used butterfly tape. As a young child, I wasn’t sure what butterfly tape was and had imagined a white butterfly using its tiny little legs to hold my brow together while it healed.

At about thirteen the scar started to really annoy me. It seemed an unkept, unmade part of my face in the beginnings of wearing purple eyeshadow and black liner. I used to take a black, BIC pen and mark in the scar every day before going to school. There were times other girls would spot the inked spot and make fun of it, or just asking about it was perceived as them not approving of me in some way—proof of my inferiority.

I took the tweezers and went to town, it seemed thinning them out made the scar somewhat less noticeable. My mother asked why I’d ever want to pluck away my signature trademark and warned that I might end up like one of those fat lunch-ladies at the school who had plucked so long they wouldn’t grow back, one of those who painted on reddish-brown, high arches that read as everlasting surprise.

Many years later, my ex-husband got a tattoo license and was doing some permanent make-up. He asked if I wanted him to take care of my troubled brow—he promised that he wouldn’t make me look like a circus clown, but his proceeding diabolical laugh ran me away from that offer.

When my only daughter was born, the year I was thirty, many people would first comment on her very distinct eyebrows and how stunning they were. I took such pride in a mirror of mine unharmed.

Photo: A picture I took in Ubud, Bali

Sort:  

I think anything we can do to be noticeable is a good thing even if that means you had to fall to make your eyebrow unique. Thanks for the story. Let’s see what you can do with today’s prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-224-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-40-off

I didn't see this before, and am glad you included it in your over-20 posts. I love the eyebrow story! I had a chipped tooth for many years....it happened in 3rd or 4th grade when I ran into a tetherball pole. Now I wish I still had it, because I have bridgework instead, due to an accident. I'd rather have the chipped tooth!

Those kind of differences add character too, but difficult to convince younger people of this. So many people now have perfect and matching teeth and eyebrows too :)

For some reason, I think eyebrow scars are the coolest out of all the scars...but I don't think I realized it before I read this! How do you feel about it as an adult now?

I'm used to it, though I still comb it with an old mascara brush and scratch in a little liner if I'm going out ;)

a white butterfly using its tiny little legs to hold my brow together while it healed.

That is such a beautiful image!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.17
ETH 2341.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35