Failed hike and over night camp at Kaniwhaniwha

in #outdoors5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Really cool scenery. I love hiking through areas like that. I only wish I had more time. I hike for the enjoyment and in most cases don't set a destination or agenda. That way no disappointments. I wouldn't call it a failure. It may not have been convenient, but you got to commune with nature. That is a luxury and privilege not all can have.

Agreed. The destinations are a means to an end. The real goal was getting out there and getting trail fit again. In that sense I achieved a lot.
For safety reasons, I do have to set something of a programme (with contingencies) and stick to it. I am out alone so people do need to know where to find me should I not come back on time.

Hi @eturnerx, as a MAPX stakeholder, you have just received an upvote. Now, you may (or may not) have noticed that it is substantially higher than recent upvotes. We have started accepting delegated SP as a way of mining tokens. To see what's going on, please read this important latest news. Thanks!

Stories like this make me feel so lucky to not have migraines.

Posted using Partiko Android

For fire starting: A standing dead tree should have dry wood inside after a recent rain. Pick up a pocket saw for twelve dollars to get into dry wood. I'll usually bring some fat (bacon fat, olive oil, coconut oil) in a paper towel to use like a candle to start a fire very easily. You can also bring 3+ small pieces of dry hard wood like oak to make sure you've got enough flame to cook off the moisture in the smaller twigs, which should give you enough fire to cook off moisture in larger sticks, all the way up to logs. You should probably get a telescoping blow tube as well to avoid breathing in smoke while you start your fire.

Consider hammocking if your area allows for it if you don't like tents. Looks like you've got plenty of trees around. I love sleeping and hanging out in hammocks when I don't bring my kids. Kids make me choose a tent because I don't want to set up and take down three hammocks. But if you are solo and accustomed to setting them up, you can be done in minutes. If you go that route, I've got more advice on gear like using sleeping pads still instead of an underquilt (your pad looks like it could use an upgrade) because underquilts are just too fiddly and are more bulky than modern pads.

Thanks for the tips!
I have a hammock, though I've yet to do more than nap in it. Might be worth a try. I've been thinking about converting a woobie into an underquilt.
That roll mat I used underneath a Klymit Insulated Static V Sleeping Pad. I also have a self inflating pad and a egg-caryoon style inflatable but those seem more for summer.
I think my tent isn't ideal for many reasons. I was thinking of getting a new one, but I'm also aware of that 'just one more piece of gear' mentality.

Posted using Partiko Android

Goodness! What an experience. I never thought the water tablets would make you feel ill...I thought that was the whole point! haha Glad you made it out and then back in safe and sound. All experience comes at a price and I'm glad you didn't have to spend too much to get some. Can't wait to read about your next adventure!

Building Ourselves - One Block at a time

#innerblocks

Discord-https://discord.gg/XnJtNjd
https://www.theinnerblocks.com/

I think there was more going on than the tablets. When I get migraines the body gets fussy about what it'll accept. Thanks for the resteem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Buenas noches amigo @eturnerx deseo que este bien al igual que su familia amigo.

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #545 .

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

Looks like you had quite the adventure my friend.
I am not used to hiking, I mostly camp at beaches but these beautiful photos makes me wanna go and hike.
Awesome photo at the end bro, the rainbow and the blue sky looks magnificent.

Have you ever tried a Lifestraw? It might be a better option for you if the tablets make you feel sick. Great read and hopefully next time it'll be less muddy.

I have a Sawyer mini - same kinda thing as a lifestraw. But I want to get used to purification tablets because I'll need to use them on a trek that I'm planning.
I'm told that track is always muddy. Mostly it'll just be me having to lose some weight and get used to walking that kind of ground. Others made it through that day. Still, I'm in no hurry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool scenery! Every fail is a lesson learned! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43