You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Failed hike and over night camp at Kaniwhaniwha

in #outdoors5 years ago

For fire starting: A standing dead tree should have dry wood inside after a recent rain. Pick up a pocket saw for twelve dollars to get into dry wood. I'll usually bring some fat (bacon fat, olive oil, coconut oil) in a paper towel to use like a candle to start a fire very easily. You can also bring 3+ small pieces of dry hard wood like oak to make sure you've got enough flame to cook off the moisture in the smaller twigs, which should give you enough fire to cook off moisture in larger sticks, all the way up to logs. You should probably get a telescoping blow tube as well to avoid breathing in smoke while you start your fire.

Consider hammocking if your area allows for it if you don't like tents. Looks like you've got plenty of trees around. I love sleeping and hanging out in hammocks when I don't bring my kids. Kids make me choose a tent because I don't want to set up and take down three hammocks. But if you are solo and accustomed to setting them up, you can be done in minutes. If you go that route, I've got more advice on gear like using sleeping pads still instead of an underquilt (your pad looks like it could use an upgrade) because underquilts are just too fiddly and are more bulky than modern pads.

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips!
I have a hammock, though I've yet to do more than nap in it. Might be worth a try. I've been thinking about converting a woobie into an underquilt.
That roll mat I used underneath a Klymit Insulated Static V Sleeping Pad. I also have a self inflating pad and a egg-caryoon style inflatable but those seem more for summer.
I think my tent isn't ideal for many reasons. I was thinking of getting a new one, but I'm also aware of that 'just one more piece of gear' mentality.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38