ORIGINAL MUSIC /// steemit exclusive 004 /// Sonata for Mandolin and delay pedal

in #originalmusic7 years ago

mando2.jpg

What does it sound like to put a 120 year old mandolin into a delay pedal? Let's find out!


This mandolin is a really special instrument to me, it was a gift from my father. I estimate the date of construction to be before 1900 which makes it a 120 year old instrument. It was in bad shape when I got it but with love and care it's now back to is former glory. I did try to find out who built it for years (no tag inside) and I recently found some clues and I can now tell with almost certainty that this instrument was built by H. A. WEYMANN & SON makers from Philadelphia. See an ad for one of their products dating from 1910.


MANDOLUTE-brochure-1910.jpg

mando1a.jpg

I use the delay pedal in this composition as a second instrument. The echo comes at a regular interval and I try to time each new note on the bouce of the previous one, this allows me to create different harmonies which explains the title;

Sonata for Mandolin and delay pedal.

This is #004 of my STEEMIT EXCLUSIVE SERIES. See also my previous projects:


#003 /// My landlord sings the Crypto Malady blues
https://steemit.com/music/@vachemorte/steemit-exclusive-003-my-landlord-sings-the-crypto-malady-blues

#002 /// Little Ukulele goes to war
https://steemit.com/music/@vachemorte/original-music-steemit-exclusive-little-ukulele-goes-to-war

#001 /// Original guitar composition
https://steemit.com/music/@vachemorte/original-guitar-composition-steemit-exclusive

↓↓↓ click to follow ↓↓↓

Sort:  

Very cool!

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Thank you it's very kind. I am not familiar with the steemit social media queue yet but I am now interested. I would like for people to hear this piece.

This song is really well done, that mandolin is beautiful! I love the old poster for the mandolute as well, nice vintage find :)

thank you Julia. I didn't know where the mandolin came from so I was pretty thrilled to figure it out. I did only recently.

Great sound @vachemorte. Nice delay harmonies. Cool title :) Giving the effect it's proper credit within the composition :)

thanks @greatdabu for stopping by the party. The composition also exists without delay. But the delay plays half the notes on this one. Cheers for your support!

You got it, my friend :)

Thaaaaaaaat was fucking SIIIIIIIIIIIICK!!!!!!! WOWWEEEEEE!!!!!

My best enthusiastic supporter just showed up! :)

HAHAHAA!! It was sooooooo dark and evil sounding, I just love the dark!! Beautiful, I was smiling the whole way through :)

Fantastic @vachemorte! What a story! It does sound like you are playing 2 instruments.

Thank you so much. I am Canadian too and I could use a cannabis coach.

Well, I am happy to help anytime @vachemorte! I greatly enjoyed listening to you play your vintage mandolin. Well done. :)

thank you for your support! more to come. I also did keto/paleo for a year and need to go back at it now...

Keto/ Paleo is a very healthful way to live because it lowers inflammation and ensures the body will take its fuel from fat instead of sugar. You definitely feel better and have more energy.

Thanks man I am looking at your weekly post and I am loving it. Next week I have something a little blue grass folk of a mess you might enjoy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by auditoryorgasms from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Very nice i am @djnoel

Upvoted and also resteemed!

This post has received a 18.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @juliakponsford.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50