Original Poetry: The Bear

in #original6 years ago (edited)

The Bear*

I am driving up the freeway in the spring
past barren areas and woods, small towns and suburbs
and into the heart of the city.

Vines from an overpass threaten to wind themselves
round cars frozen in thick traffic and suddenly I see
a bear cub climbing the vines and I think it looks confused.

But traffic picks up and I tell myself it wasn't real
and I am confused and I shake my head to clear it
and drive out of the city into suburbs that pass into suburbs.

*I wrote this poem years ago and felt inspired to share it because the writing prompt I chose to use today for the Five Minute Freewrite Single Prompt Option (find the prompt here) reminded me of it. You can read my #freewrite here.

Sort:  

This is one of my favorite poems of yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65