Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 119 (Original Blog)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 119


Please forgive my absence last week, my toddler son was terribly ill, as well as myself. We are both healed up and I'm back at it. I may miss posting an Open Mic Judge Post, but I have never Not posted and missed one completely.


Since becoming a judge, I have posted for every single week. It will always come late if it comes to it, but at least it is still done for you all. Thanks for your understanding and patience.


My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 6 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, @Luzcypher, @Curie, @Aggroed, @Helpie, @Lukestokes, & @Teamsteem as witnesses here https://steemit.com/~witnesses, all of whom are our biggest supporters who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @dianakyv's "Burbujas De Amor" By Juan Luis Guerra Cover Song

You sing always with a careful detail of the beautiful sounds your voice can produce and layer it with delicate and smooth aspects of an experienced vocalist. This was quite a difficult song to perform melodically and you transitioned well within all its parts. Great cover choice and thanks for sharing another sharp entry.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@dianakyv/steemit-open-mic-week-119-burbujas-de-amor-by-dianakyv


2. @guachoman's "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve" By Frank Loesser Cover Song

Definitely can tell you love this song, and it translates well in how you display it. You also have the piano and vocal skills to bring to life this well known cover. Great choice by the way and this was a splendid first solo entry to the Open Mic Contest and Community. This has a lot of vibrant life and passion interweaved in your performance. Looking forward to your future entries.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@guachoman/steemit-open-mic-week-119-what-are-you-doing-new-year-s-eve-cover-by-guachoman


3. @minuetoacademy's "Song To My Son" By Paquito D'Rivera Cover Song

Bravo and encore. You are a romanticist's pianist and play with pure heart, soul and raw emotion. This was a very touching performance and well executed. Definitely high replay value and a fantastic cover choice. Thank you for sharing your gifts of music as always. They are such a refined sound and artful treat.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@minuetoacademy/steemit-openmic-week-119-or-minuetoacademy-or-song-to-my-son-cover


4. @danieldedosd2's "Motivo" Cover Song

There is nothing better than to receive the warm and profound tears of a true listener who can appreciate your form of art. To evoke such emotion is not an easy task when performing music and this entry showcases that natural talent and refined skill of both your guitar playing and your vocal serenading. Thanks for sharing this smooth cover song, looking forward to more.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@danieldedosd2/steemit-open-mic-week-119-cover-motivos-por-danieldedosd2


5. @alfredmusic's "Original Composition" Original Song

Hearing an original masterpiece from the great @alfredmusic the maestro is a privilege indeed. This was rich in rhythm, melodic layering and harmonious rifts that bless the listeners with joy. Thank you for sharing this fine piece of musical art.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@alfredmusic/steemit-open-mic-119-original-music





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )





4. @kkarenmp's "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" By Nickolas Ashford & Valerie Simpson Cover Song

**

https://steemit.com/dtube/@kkarenmp/rxs59i2d


7. @coruscate's "On My Own" By Les MiserablesCover Song

https://steemit.com/dtube/@coruscate/4b2j0yt5





Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 119



Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!


Sort:  

Please forgive my absence last week, my toddler son was terribly ill, as well as myself. We are both healed up and I'm back at it. I may miss posting an Open Mic Judge Post, but I have never Not posted and missed one completely.

Since becoming a judge, I have posted for every single week. It will always come late if it comes to it, but at least it is still done for you all. Thanks for your understanding and patience.

I hope your child gets better soon. Thanks for letting us know @verbal-d and for all you do my friend.

Dear Mr verbal-d Thank you for promoting artist. I am quite new to live recording. You are a musician and you are also a judge so you must have a wonderful grasp on what is good or not. Could you please give me an honest opinion of my work? I know have started in music late in life but maybe you have some hints on what I need to work on. I know it is a lot to ask but I have no other person to ask. Thanks for your time.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@zeitli/steemit-open-mic-week-121-tragedy-original-song

You're very welcome, I have a fairly keen ear to detail. I would love to give you an honest opinion of your artwork sure. After listening to your entry, I must say I love that it is an original, because original music is the best way to express yourself. Here are my opinions. The song overall embodies the theme of sombre tragedy very well, your singing is like a wailing howl, and the reverb echo effect is an added bonus that enhances the melancholic and lingering pain in your singing, However, you sound very far away, and as seen in your video, you aren't singing into the mic, but moreso near it, or in its general direction. To get a more full sound, get closer to the microphone where it is almost exaggerated and work on your volume control so that you aren't overpowering when you record. The guitar playing is also a better background layer but could be balanced by aiming the microphone at your guitar a bit more and you singing louder in the mics direction, or tilting your guitar upward to the mic, or you leaning back yourself as you are close to the mic and tilt your guitar upward toward the microphone as you sing in front of it, or you experiment different angles on the mic with your vocals and guitar to find the best sweet spots of sound so that you can capture both aspects of your song to layer it properly with a resounding balance.

The singing style for this song could be improved, you tend to slide into your notes, which is fine, but when you slide into notes, your timing must be better because when you have too much reverb and echo effect, it can have a Bleeding effect where the notes begin to clash against one another in disharmony and linger for too long pulling me, the listener, out of the moments you are trying to create. Please sing with more conviction and energy, pour your heart and soul into the music so the raw emotions can take form into real moments of believability and captivating musical story sharing. When you use more energy and display more focus and passion, it will also require a higher level of breath control so prepare your lungs for that as well to transition smoothly and deliver without hesitation, without interrupting the flow or rhythm.

Also, I can barely understand your lyrics, your voice is just too faint but I have to turn the volume up really loud and when I sing or rap anything, I have a tendency to over pronounce or over enunciate so that my words come out clear and precise. I enjoyed listening to it for the most part, but definitely you have some things to work on to improve your next entry or performance.

I hope my constructive criticism helps you, and you are most welcome. Thanks for reaching out and for sharing your artwork with us.

Wow, I have read this post many times and agree with you on all points. You have given me a lot to work on and think about. Thank you so much for all you advice and honest opinion. I hope I can work things out with time. thanks again.

Thanks for the inclusion homie!

Thank you man!, I hope you and your son feel well!. Thank you for the mention!.

hey! I just found out about this!

Thanks so much for this lovely review! I'm really glad that all the work I put in this performance was able to reach people as I intended to be.

really glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33