Steemit Open Mic Week 45 /// Original Banjo jam

in #openmic7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 5.45.52 PM.png

Yo. I jammed this one today during my lunch hour so I have something for this weeks open mic. My first entry to open mic ever was #43 and I figured out during my vacation that I won third place and a prize. You can see the post here. I was surprised because the quality of the artists that submit are amazing, there is talent on steemit to the highest level in all genres and styles. This is why I am here. I am not going anywhere, steemit is my home now. Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for organizing and sponsoring Open Mic every week.

This banjo is around 100 years old, he was made in Montreal and he's a really good friend to me.

↓↓↓ click to follow ↓↓↓

Sort:  

very good music

Thanks. I like the description of your profile, really clever...

Loved the transition near the one-minute mark… Totally appreciate the groove you contained therein my friend… Nice!

thank you I really appreciate your support. I play music in the hope people will listen to it. So this track is not for me, but for you, if that makes any sense...

Makes total sense to me brother... Thank you for that...

Your banjo skills are on fire ☄️

My gf told me I will sleep on the couch tonight if I don't have a decent entry for this week open mic... I hope she will be please.

I think you'll be alright 😜

I agree Julia - he and his girlfriend will be quite snuggley this evening, I'm sure of it...

Not quite. She made me sleep in the shed with dry bread and a little bit of water and she told me I have to do better for next week :(

Lovely banjo, beautiful warm tone! Great pickin' too!

Upvoted and resteemed

images.png

Ah thank you so much. Really nice to see you again. I remember that you liked the track slow murder. I am working on more electronic music lately I hope you'll have a listen. But this week it's all about my hillbilly white trash style...

Super. Bad. Ass. I've always wanted to play the banjo and i love to see people playing non-traditional stuff. I'm so glad I stumbled across you in my feed thanks to @juliakponsford. Looking forward to future entries and I need to go check out some of the stuff you've posted in the past. Really digging it, man. Keep it up!

Well many thanks. really happy you dig my stuff again. yes I know for a fact that @juliakponsford taking steemit by storm right now, so I am happy to have her support :) Go ahead and check my older post you might find something you like that's for sure. Many new projects to come also. Trying to get my voice heard on steemit is not so easy so I am really happy I got you to listen to me for a second time this week! I am a fashion photographer and I do shoot that are edgy so I really dig your b&w photos. Thanks again for the love Melody, it mean more than you think!

Amaziiiiiiiingg :D I imagine that add to an Nordic RPG game <3 <3

YES that could work on a game now that you say it! I can't wait for you to get your own guitar because you already killing it! Great things ahead for you my friend.

@vachemorte I hope get a used and cheap guitar, I have to take advantage to learn what I've always dreamed wow I love to see your technique and speed in your fingers !!! Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to me :)

Yes even if I am a fancy luthier I don't believe you need a fancy instrument to rock the party. I have a 50$ guitar I got at a garage sale and I will record something soon on it to make my point. love ya bro.

Wow, Great Man. You are talented.

thank you man it's really cool that you stop by. This why I am doing this. I recorded today and someone at the other end of the world will listen to it later... isn't that amazing?

The banjo has such a warm and sincere sound. Is this one that you built?

Thanks man. No I didn't build the banjo this an antique of 100+ years old. It was in bad shape. no bridge. So I build one from scratch with ebony wood and ivory (I didn't kill an elephant I had a little piece left over) and I will say I am pretty proud of the design and I might take a close up photo of it someday. I had to change all the keys because they where too old and not keeping the tuning. At the time there was also the original skin on it and it looked really old but few years back the skin cracked and I had to change it.

That's amazing - bringing back an instrument from the dead! Just as impressive as building something from scratch. I'd love to hear the details of this project - just what is the skin of a banjo, and how do you replace it?

I've got an old bouzouki with a broken neck and de-laminating face. Could you bring something like that back to life?

Maybe I could but I don't have a shop to repair instruments now that I am working as a director for years. Give your bouzouki some love and make it sing again! If you are overwhelm by the repair maybe you have a luthier in your area. Because the size of this banjo is not standard I couldn't buy a normal banjo skin and replace it so I bought a floor tom skin and cut the rim out to fit it in. In a future post I will talk more about this banjo for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3749.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66