Sort:  

Thanks man. No I didn't build the banjo this an antique of 100+ years old. It was in bad shape. no bridge. So I build one from scratch with ebony wood and ivory (I didn't kill an elephant I had a little piece left over) and I will say I am pretty proud of the design and I might take a close up photo of it someday. I had to change all the keys because they where too old and not keeping the tuning. At the time there was also the original skin on it and it looked really old but few years back the skin cracked and I had to change it.

That's amazing - bringing back an instrument from the dead! Just as impressive as building something from scratch. I'd love to hear the details of this project - just what is the skin of a banjo, and how do you replace it?

I've got an old bouzouki with a broken neck and de-laminating face. Could you bring something like that back to life?

Maybe I could but I don't have a shop to repair instruments now that I am working as a director for years. Give your bouzouki some love and make it sing again! If you are overwhelm by the repair maybe you have a luthier in your area. Because the size of this banjo is not standard I couldn't buy a normal banjo skin and replace it so I bought a floor tom skin and cut the rim out to fit it in. In a future post I will talk more about this banjo for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56