Steemit Open Mic Week 115 : Carol of the Birds(traditional)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

openMic copy.jpg

Steemit Open Mic Week 115 : Carol of the Birds(traditional)

Happy December Steemit!

This week is a an anomaly for me, as I am singing a traditional Christmas song.
Other than 'The Little Drummer Boy' I had never heard a Christmas song that I've liked... that changed when I heard John Jacob Niles sing 'Carol of the Birds.'
I had never heard the song before, and I thought it was beautiful.
I can't sing the way he does, but the song is so nice that I had to do a version.


Full Lyrics :
Oh many a bird did wake and fly
To the manger bed with a wandering cry
On Christmas Day in the morning

The lark, the dove, the red bird came
And they did sing in Jesus name
On Christmas Day in the morning

The owl was there with eyes so wide
so watchful o'er Mary's side
On Christmas Day in the morning

The shepherds knelt upon the hay
And angels sang the night away
On Christmas Day in the morning


I hope you all have a happy solstice.
Blessings to you Steemit...

tuvokLiveLong.jpg

Sort:  

This is a lovely Christmas song. I've never heard the original version so can't judge the way he sings but I like the way you do :)

Thank you @delishtreats!
I put John Jacob Niles' version in the comments.

John Jacob Niles' version.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wonderful, though I LOVE so many Christmas songs. My favourites are ," In the bleak mid-Winter", "The holly and the Ivy" "Ding Dong Merrily on High" .

A great rendition of this song, by the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33