Open Mic Week 11 - Finally I Get You

in #openmic8 years ago

This week, I decided to attempt Jane Zhang's "Finally I Get You" - 终于等到你.

Jane Zhang has become one of China's most successful female singers in this generation. Since competing in Super Girl and placing third, she has gone on to release 10 Albums and EP's and has won multiple awards for her work, including Best Worldwide Act, Best Asian Artist, Best original film song, and Most popular female artist in China.

Most recently, she was chosen to sing the song "Writing's On The Wall" originally by Sam Smith, for the James Bond movie, Spectre. But as in my last submission for open mic, you can see she sings quite a diverse range of English songs. Another notable song that shows her English comfort is "Fighting Shadows" for the movie "Terminator Genisys".

This is fitting because she remains one of the only mainland artists who feel comfortable singing in English despite never receiving any formal education in English. I find this to be quite amazing, I've always admired her tenacity in this industry because very few singers who emerge from singing competition shows can go on to carve out such a successful career that lasts any longer than the few years following their limelight. Jane on the other hand has been in the industry for over a decade and is still very popular.

This song - Finally I get you, was written as the theme song to CCTV's drama, "Let‘s Get Married". The drama tells the story of a woman's fears over marriage, the obstacles she must overcome and winning the approval of parents who are dissatisfied with the lovers love story.

Even though the song is the epitome of Chinese pop music, it speaks volumes about the situation of many young people today. As China becomes more westernised, so does their youth, who seek to marry under their own terms and not the ulterior motives of their parents.

Lyrics :

到了某个年纪你就会知道
一个人的日子真的难熬
A person’s life is really bitter when you reach certain age
渐渐开始尝到孤单的味道
时间在敲打着你的骄傲
you will start to taste loneliness and time is erasing your pride
过了某个路口你就会感到
彻夜陪你聊天的越来越少
Friends that could talk to all night is getting less and less after you walked past
some crossroad
厌倦了被寂寞追着跑
getting tired of being chased after loneliness
找个爱你的人就想托付终老
looking for a man who loves you and could spend the rest of life with
能陪我走一程的人有多少
how many people could go a part of journey in my life
愿意走完一生的更是寥寥
and very few can accompany me to go through life
是否刻骨铭心并没那么重要
it is fine if it is unforgettable
只想在平淡中体会爱的味道
only wish to feel the taste of love in the plain of life
终于等到你,还好我没放弃
I finally get you, luckily I didn't give up
幸福来得好不容易 才会让人更加珍惜
happiness is so hard to get, so that it becomes more precious
终于等到你,差点要错过你
I finally get you, luckily I didn't miss you
在最好的年纪遇到你 才算没有辜负自己
I live up to myself to meet you in my best time
终于等到你
I finally get you

Sort:  

You are adorable! You looked a little nervous, I used to get nervous about singing to! :) Thank you for the song, it was fun to watch and listen.

It's all the pressure infront of so many Steemians!

It's surreal!

你好 sweetsssj your really sweet!
loved it! your singing very nicely!
I'm an orchestra musician and Chinese medicine enthusiast
now I'm following you so I can learn more Chinese with you great feeling!!!
wonder if we could do some music together!

sometimes i catch familiar parts witch must be like 终于等到你
"Finally I Get You" but sounds "down down there" so it's kind of funny!
are you studding! music!?

Lovely sound, lovely sentiment...
Thanks for singing, and thanks for the translation. ;) :)

@creatr

You have such a sweet, beautiful voice! Loved listening to this song! <3

Thank you so much! I'm honoured!

Wow, that's great!! I'm happy that you sing for us. I think you should do it more often on steemit. I am aslo a singer but not a professional singer.


Maybe you can create something with singing on steemit. Like here in the Netherlands, we have the voice of Holland. Maybe you can make one too, like the voice of steemit.

That's a good idea! I will have a good think about it! Thank you for the suggestion

Awesome job. You sing that song much better than I do. When you're not as nervous, let's see more emotion - really open up!

Thanks for the tips David , I'll try work on the emotion expression some more!

Nice job with this song. I don't understand the Chinese but it sounds melodic and soothing. More importantly, I like the name of the sing - Jane. :) Thank you for your post and good luck in Open Mic Week 11.

Haha I sometimes I feel more comfortable singing in my mother tongue I will try sing some in English too!

Yeah! Please try in English! I think it will be great!

@sweetsssj I like your voice a lot - soooooo angelic, I don't understand a word you sing but you sing it with your heart - I hear it :)
applause!

Thank you! Sometimes listening to melodies increase the enjoyment of the song. Cause then the focus is on the music and not the words.. maybe it's a good thing you don't understand~

@sweetsssj true, cause I saw the lyrics last night and I thought .. darn
btw good luck

Thanks, I think I prefer below songs..

Beautiful Voice... Great job!

Thanks macksby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51