OPEN MIC WEEK 81 - original song "Steem Blockchain Song" loosely set to the tune of Bob Marley's "Redemption Song"

in #openmic6 years ago

We did some sweet karaoke at Ellis Island during the STEEM CREATORS CONFERENCE, so I got on the mic to drop some knowledge.


I hope you enjoy my entry to Steemit Open Mic week 81!! (What up @luzcypher!!!! Shout out @pfunk for sponsoring a really important & valuable initiative for musicians on the blockchain! And to @verbal-d and all the other judges, I hope you appreciate an off the cuff freestyle steemstyle flow 😀 )

I don't have the best singing voice, but I don't apologize for it because I have something important to say.

Set (loosely) to the tune of Bob Marley's Redemption Song, things turned super steemy...



Maybe this won't count as an "official" Open Mic entry because I forgot to say my username & Steemit Open Mic Week 81 in the beginning (Ellis Island has delicious $2 home brewed draft beers - just sayin), but it's still way fun and to me it's worth sharing, supporting, and encouraging music with a message. 



I hope you LOVE the video as much as the crowd did! 


Here's the lyrics:

Oh Facebook yes they rob I,
Steal all of our content.
Then they monetize data
for corporate profit.

They're making BILLIONS
and they won't give you one cent
for all the data you share -
how long you gonna put up with that shit?!

Now there's a better way
it's the STEEM blockchain
Get paid for the things that you post
The revolution
of social media

Emancipate yourself from mental slavery
none but ourselves can free our mind
Have no fear for the corporate slavery
bc you can be free if you want that

All you have to do is move your social media over to
Steemit or Busy, Dtube, DLive, or Steepshot
You can go with Zappl too if you like to do the Twitter thing -
it's not my favorite
but I like to get paid
in cryptocurrency

You don't need fiat!! Stop supporting the global military industrial complex everybody - there's a better way! CRYPTOCURRENCY IS THE REVOLUTION! It's here! You can get paid for your social media content! Anything you put on Facebook just put it on STEEM instead and get paid for that! Get paid, do y'all hear me?? I can see half of you are still dead, and that's ok I still love you but understand the revolution is here!

We're getting paid
and we're paying it forward
bc at the @gardenofeden we help other people
It's all about the gift economy

The STEEM blockchain
it's the revolution
get paid for the things that you post
in cryptocurrency
bypass the Fed!

Songs of freedom
bc all I ever had
redemption song
songs of freedom

Legit freedom everybody! Freedom, freedom, freedom - anybody like that? FREEDOOOOMMMMMM!!! It sounds good right? You don't have to be in tune to be in line with freedom! STEEM blockchain, everybody, the STEEM blockchain! 

Get paid





💛 Sara!

Sort:  

Hahahaha super cute!

Thank you :)

If only everyone was as passionate and caring about the Steem Blockchain and the cryptocurrency revolution as you are, this was a joy to watch from start to finish even though you indeed were all over the place lol it wasn't about the musicality this time, like you said, it was purely the message, and what a message of purity it was for our benefit and freedom. Respect and kudos and everything else @saramiller, you are a great representative for Steemit :)

Thanks @verbal-d, I really appreciate your feedback! Even though I don't enter Open Mic too often, I totally recognize and appreciate all you do for this important initiative and respect that you're a GREAT Steem ambassador yourself! We at the @gardenofeden hold you in high regard @verbal-d. Would love to rap with you one day in real life, sir ! This was more playful, but I'm obviously not really a singer - word flow is more my jam

Appreciate your kind words love and support truly. Very humbling and graciously generous. I Would love to freestyle and rap jam. Possibly steemfest 3? great things ahead in the future horizons for sure!

woooooo great stufff!!! love you guys

This was an AMAZING moment from the conference!! You were totally fearless and rocked it up there!

The look on the karaoke ladies face was priceless... she just kind of threw up her hands and didn’t try to stop it. 😂

Thank you @coruscate! You're a hard act to follow 😘
But yeah if I have a mic in my hand I like to throw down :)

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks for hosting such an important initiative for Steem & musicians , @luzcypher! Looking forward to the next time we can hang out!

This was one of the most epic moments of this night out on the town with you @saramiller. You really ROCKED IT!!! I love how you drop down the wisdom and put it right in the face! AWESOME! Thank god for Sara. You're truly a gem.

Classic performance lol no fear or hesitation whatsoever, that's the best

Twas great fun :)

Can't wait til we all jam one day with @quinneaker and @everlove. Looking forward to your next hip hop flow. I respect all the emcees, especially ones like you who address deep topics and even cryptocurrency.

Thanks @everlove, I'm so grateful for all of your support 💛

it's easy to support greatness @saramiller! <3

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hahaha that's pretty cool, you're a spoken word artist yourself ;)
TBH I rocked a lot harder, but thanks for this cover LOL

wonderful music video photography post...
i appreciate your blog...
thanks for sharing..

Hello @saramiller , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is "buildawhale"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69