OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 76

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Summary

...So here we are, in week #76 brothers and sisters, and in spite of STEEM and SBD hitting the skids of late, STEEMIT’s musical community, and the Open-Mic Venue in particular, continue to prevail against all odds!

This proves unequivocally, just how much STEEMIT and the Open-Mic Venue means to real people – in the real world - above and beyond the price of the cryptocurrency, which just so happens to be an important ancillary element inherent within the underlying platform in which this venue resides and thrives.

In my view, our “Open-Mic” venue is way bigger and far more important than the daily price of BITCOIN! In spite of that, we all hope and trust that the crypto-realm in which this venue was conceived, shall continue to thrive and support in a very real and meaningful way, all of the phenomenal artists that “The Open-Mic” has spawned, and has brought to the fore in a most brilliant and effective way.

Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, & @Teamsteem as witnesses! All of whom are our biggest supporters who play major roles in helping to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic contest. You can vote for each of them right now by going to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

So with that said, following some further insights as to how I judge, let’s get it on, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 76

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @belenlopr - "Fallin' "- (Cover)

Wow, – student and teacher combine and "kick-ass" on a level that is most admirable on every possible level! The passion here is undeniable! On the part of the “student” vocalist, as well as on part of the “master guitarist” mentor, - the two of them meld in such a way that defies reason! Therein lay the reason that they find themselves in my number one spot this week. I just loved everything about this!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@belenlopr/steemic-open-mic-week-76-fallin-alicia-keys-cover

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @funkmedia – "Lentosa" - (Original)

I’ve got to give a special shout-out here for this “BAND!” As musicians, we know all-too-well just how difficult it is to bring forth a “band” of artists to collaborate toward a common purpose. These guys are living proof that such an accomplishment is indeed possible – however impossible it may seem for the rest of us. I loved everything about this production! I love the music, the video, the audio quality, and the intermittent drum solos, along of course, with the dynamic musical tempo-shift in bringing this tune to its brilliant and rather fun and entertaining conclusion! All of the above in combination - have set this fine entry into my number two spot for week #76.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@funkmedia/openmic-semana-76-lentosa-fullband-funkmedia-cancion-original

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @operahoser – "Strike Three" - (Original)


Okay, so, I’m telling you brothers and sisters, when I heard this, I fell in love head-over-heels – straight away! Again, in keeping with the “band” concept, these guys are most definitely my cup of tea! I love the bass-lines, the vocals, the lead guitar embellishments, and just about everything else about this most entertaining original tune! You gotta check these guys out – click play, and just get into the blues-laden-jam these guys lay down so eloquently! Strike-three – and you’re out baby! And, I’m IN!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@operahoser/steemit-open-mic-week-76-original-strike-three

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @ed-the-songster – "Out of Touch" - (Original)


Yo, man – Ed just lays it down nice and easy, but in a rather captivating and entertaining way! On the surface, he seems like just a regular guy with a little somethin’ to say. And, what he has to say is rather stirring and meaningful on so many levels. Such a great composition and performance, Ed! I loved this, man – and that’s precisely why Ed found his way into my Top-5! If it matters at all, Ed, I don’t feel like I belong either! Thank goodness for that ever-positive “sunshine, brother!"
https://steemit.com/openmic/@ed-the-songster/open-mic-week-76-original-song-out-of-touch

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @drewsmusic – "See You Again" - (Original)


Alright, so he starts out innocuously enough – but then, BAM – his vocals come into play, and, WOW! Drew’s keys, in concert with his spot-on vocals, quickly come to the fore and take over like nobody’s business! “See You Again” is an exceptional composition and performance that most definitely requires hitting the “play-button” to appreciate it in all of its passionate beauty.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewsmusic/steemit-openmic-week-76-or-see-you-again-by-drewsmusic

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @drewley – "Possible For Me" - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-76-possible-for-me-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@trevorpetrie, @pedromrmourato, @melissakellie, @markaustin, @michaeldietrich, @timothympratt, @joseacabrerav, @edenmichelle, @miaapado, @andrewmarkmusic, @thesimpson, @senzenfrenz, @rodrigocabrera, @bonniepiesse, @elisonr13, @benleemusic, @petrajordan, @sallyswitchblade, @honeymoon-1611, and @adreini!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:

@untaljames, @melodeons, @manurodriguez, @danshawmusic, @wethepatsies, @camporr, @itinerantartist, @revdocwelch, @soykatonline, @gibber, @jumpmaster, @kkarenmp, @yetxuni, @timothybusker, @lk666, @shaktisun, @bryandivisions, @malvarezmusic, @graceleon, @addiesworld, @nadabrahmasounds, @williamsreinoso, @paulove, @guifaquetti, @abyni, @rjcha, @esaug, @melodyrussell, @lorey-bero, @liat, @coruscate, @gladiador, @claratymusic, @enazirma, @andybabbmusic, @alvaro017, @klynic, @brendahcaroline, @ingridkornelia, @andii, @juliolunar, @temistocles123, @maerod, @jgvinstl, @alejandra23, @leomolina, @wilins, @joecha, @andreback, @javierdunn, @carlosrada, @tarotbyfergus, @exzorltg, @martinsandersuk, @bennettitalia, @kendramoriah, @adamazing, @danieldyemusic, @acousticsteveo, @silviagoh, @builtinfire, @pollocyber, @laleerock, @cesaralejandro, @luiskrupaz, @chaifm, and @vjeanns!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Cheers for the shout-out brother!

Always, Trevor - thank you, brother!

@passion-ground, thanks for the honorable mention! Your right, it IS beginning to feel like family :-)

It was well-deserved, brother! Family indeed - thanks, man!

Great picks from some great music. Thanks for the speciel shout out brother!

You got it, brother... Thanks, Martin!

Thank you so much for including me in that list of amazing musicians!! I found some great new pieces here! Love!!!

You're in good company, Melavie - and so are they! Thank you!

Thanks again for this bro! I always check your top 5 and it's incredible each time! I appreciate your special mention and I take advantage to say congratulations to everyone! You rock guys!

Thank you, brother!

Hey, wonderful work everybody, thanks for the mention @passion-ground!

You've got it, my brother! Thank you!

I'm glad that it's a surprise, I do not win but I feel honored to at least appear in the performances that you enjoyed, I'm glad you enjoyed it, I hope you enjoy my new entry as well. regards

I certainly look forward to all of your future entries, Karen! Thank you! :-)

thank you so much for the shout out!! ♥ it keeps us grounded and motivated seeing as there's so many good artists giving their best here as well. Xx

You are quite welcome, and thank you! Xx

My friend this has been a tough week at work, I'm a teacher and here in Argentina classes are now starting, so these are crazy weeks! hehe

Good stuff you have picked in here, congrats to all these great artists!

Have a nice weekend!
Hoping to participate next week,

Cheers!

Thanks for the kind comment, Roman! Look forward to hearing more from you in the near future! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51