OPEN MIC WEEK 22 - "BLESSED ARE"

in #openmic7 years ago

This week I’m going back to 2009 to bring you this original song.


I wrote it based off of the teachings of Jesus Christ as recorded in Matthew chapter 5. Here is the portion of Scripture that my lyrics come from.

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled. Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God. Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God. Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness' sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Matthew 5:3-10

BLESSED ARE



My brother played the guitar for this song, and thankfully I had a recording of it with no vocals, so I could add them for the Open Mic. Also, I’ve got something really epic I’m trying to pull off for Open Mic 23, so we will see what happens.

Steemit Like You Mean It!


I'm still trying out some new footers, and have a 100 STEEM Bounty for the one that I like the best.

https://steemit.com/bounty/@papa-pepper/papa-needs-help-100-steem-bounty

To Learn More About Operation Translation Click Here

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing @papa-pepper.

It's a beautiful song :-)

Thanks for enjoying it. Sometimes I know that people won't read the Bible, so if I used the scriptures as lyrics, it'll give people a chance to listen to some of what it says.

Cool man. Pop a link up on the comments of the contest page please so we know you're entered. Thanks buddy.

Right, I did that this morning, but thanks for the reminder. Planning on having some real fun next week, if I can pull it off!

More Christian songs are needed here in Steemit. Kid made me smile.

So you don't mind waiting for the other one???

You could always write some Christian songs and share them... I do!

Most of our beautiful Christian songs are sung in Filipino and I got a bad voice...

I love this! Great song, awesome performance and a very cute kid!

Thank you, it's nice to have an opportunity to share some of these songs from years ago!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Those lyrics are spot on, make the message a blessing to hear. Your singing leaves something to be desired though lol I was waiting for you to rap. You know God says, Psalms 33:3
“Sing unto him a new song; play skilfully with a loud noise.”

And our voice is that instrument. It's time to sign you up for some singing lessons bro, Haha. Don't take it too harshly, your lyrics are biblically inspired and that's half the battle. :) Thanks for sharing as always. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

Yeah, I'm more in the "joyful noise" crowd!

haha I got you bro, you can rap though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69