Steemit Open Mic Week 48: Beethoven - Sonate n°8 op13 'Pathetique' 2nd movement

in #openmic7 years ago

This week I'm performing an arrangement of Beethoven's adagio from his famous Sonata Pathetique. Although commonly thought to be one of the few works named by the composer himself, it was actually named Grande sonate pathétique (to Beethoven's liking) by the publisher, who was impressed by the sonata's tragic sonorities.

I learned this piece by ear so there may be some discrepancies between what may be a beat value vs rubato, and of course there's some of my own ideas in it as well, even though I'm told by trustworthy individuals that it's not appropriate to take too much artistic liberty with Beethoven. I don't know where I stand on the issue yet, but I feel that for now, I appreciate originality no matter the application over a perfect, yet repetitious performance. The quote often attributed to Beethoven, (however he may not have said it) "To play a wrong note is insignificant; to play without passion is inexcusable." exemplifies my own sentiments.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Unlike my rather pathetic performance this week, your's Oliver was flawless and stunning as usual! I also enjoyed your historic write-up and opinion on the piece and music in general.

Cut the crap PG, your performance had it's own qualities mate! Admittedly Oliver's piece made me cry 😔😔😔whereas your spot did rather the opposite...😂😂😂 Steem on guys.... room for everyone on here.

You're the man Geoff - thanks for such generosity!

Yeah man, you rock!! And that tone was so gritty! love it! And thanks!

Like Steely-Geoff, you're being way too generous Oliver... I'm almost sort of embarrassed for subjecting someone of your skill-set to bear witness to my “Pathetique” (he-he) mess of a musical performance… I suspect most all of the value attributable to it resides within the sheer level of fun I had doing it, and perhaps the humor and humility that I shared for all to see – whatever that might be worth… And, thank YOU!

👏👏👏👏👏 Yet another fabulous performance Oliver. For me, for personal reasons this is the best piece I've heard you do. It was my late mother's favourite piece of music. She died in 1964 and very strangely, and without it being requested, they played it at the crematorium. That memory has stayed with me since. You brought a tear to my eye with that one mate and TBH, that is one of the wonders of music, particularly when it is performed as well as it is here.

thank you Geoff! And thanks for sharing that story with me, warms my heart.

👏👏👏👏👏 I have just listened to it again Oliver and once again welled up. Just gets me right there mate. Truly, thanks for sharing it.

You are welcome, and thanks again!

Beautiful Oliver, don't listen to any trustworthy individuals (obviously I am not in that group) and take all the liberty you judge appropriate!

Beautiful work @oliverwaterman . I know this piece well and Ludwig would be proud :)
Keep making your.
Resteem, followed, upvoted
Cheers my friend
Bucky

Thanks! I appreciate it!

Are you using a guitar strap? The guitar looks really nicely situated - do you get any flack in the classical world not using a foot stool?

I do! My guitar professor uses one too. It's not very common anymore, but it used to be in classical times, also purists don't have the powerful voice they once had. Essentially all people care about now is ergonomics, tone and what works for you. At least in my experience.

there's been a lot of excitement over "supports," for people that don't want to add strap buttons to their classical's, but I don't like them. It's essentially the same concept of trying to make classical posture more ergonomic, but the strap is more versatile and feels more comfortable to me.

I used the supports for awhile but then switched to the strap -- but now i am reconsidering. I've been struggling to find a good position that allows for me to freely take breaths for singing and maintain good posture/ergonomics. The position that you have the guitar in is prime but does it rest heavily on your chest? I noticed my in-breaths in that position would cause the guitar to move. The foot stool isn't bad for this I just don't think it fits well with the vibe of my music/live shows.

I used to sing and play a lot, and would exclusively use a strap when I did that. I never noticed much difficulty with my breathing or my breathing moving the guitar, even when I would be playing more difficult accompaniment for my vocals. I was standing and singing while I played though. I don't know if that makes much of a difference, but at least for singing I needed to stand predominantly because my vocal style requires a lot of breath. I have a gut too, so you'd think if I was to notice the guitar movement effecting my playing I would. I also like to hug the guitar. It's sort of frowned upon by some classical guitarists because it can diminish tone, but I makes me more confident in my accuracy. The support really gets in the way of that closeness for me.

I think the thing I really like about the strap is it allows you to modify your position while playing. There is more movement. But it's so connected it feels like it's part of you, so I rarely feel like I'm guessing where the frett is. If you see me guessing it's because I forgot what note to play, not where that note might be.

Simply beautiful! Classical music use to be beautiful! Thank for sharing your talent!

very nice performance man!

Hey really cool. Keep the post coming, im not a fan of clasiccal guitar but i really liked this one. :)

Thanks! It's funny a lot of people say that about this piece, it must be because Beethoven is so awesome.

Heyyy nice post! I know about classical musician too... I'll follow you, please follow me! I play the guitar

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44