Open Mic Week 89 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

We are closing another amazing week at the #openmic my friends. I hope everyone had a beautiful weekend, spent some quality time with their family and loved ones surrounded by healing music.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@darrenclaxton - Resolve(origingal)

I guess Darren has been on a roll lately, his entries, his original songs have just been attacking at the heart as if they are crafted with one intent in mind.

I just love the use of the pedal tones, the harmonics and the melancholic melody. I've been remembering my grandfather a lot this weekend, and this little song seemed so appropriate.

Second Place.-

@lecocoramos - Hallelujah (cover)

I don't really need to say much. This is quite simple, if you can listen to Coco sing this song and your skin does not react, if you don't feel like crying. I suggest you call a Doctor immediately.

Coco has such a powerful delivery, its hard to describe with words. I feel like she's attacking me, like her mission is to make me break down in a pool of emotions. There more I listen, the more she succeeds.

Third Place.-

@wilins - Porque Podemos (original song)

This is one of my favorite originals ever composed by Wilins. A song about existence, a journey into the thousand questions. Its hard to describe why I'm always drawn in by introspective music, I guess its mainly because I can relate so powerfully it. I'm also one to ask myself thousands of times, why life is the way it is.

Fourth Place.-

@samidbarid - Original Piano Composition

I listened to this track three times before attempting to write my thoughts about it. It's hard to put my finger on it, but I felt like it was describing a struggle, an uphill climb, the need to not give up, the desire to continue.

Along the way, making mistakes, feeling powerless, but choosing to get up again. I have no idea if that was the intention, if that was the emotions going through Samid's heart when he composed this piece, but that's how it spoke to me.

Fifth Place.-

@coruscate - Scrubes (tlc Cover)

Almost a household name of Steem @coruscate is one of those Steemians that is so talented, is almost not fair. She had not been doing openmic entries for a while, it warms my heart to see her back into the ranks.

I'm super biased because this song reminds me so much of the younger me its not even funny. The ukulele gives it a special touch that brought a big smile to my face.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@ username - NAME OF SONG

VIDEO


@bennettitalia - FairyTale (originals song)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #89. This coming week I may not be in town to do my judge post, a situation has presented itself and I will be traveling tomorrow and won't be flying back until Sunday, but the future remains unwritten.

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love





Other posts by yours truly

• baby spiders on the prowl
• A bitter sweet Father's day...
• Thoughts about leadership
• grandma is in town
• Time to Kill some green - Watch out for snakes

Sort:  

Hey brother Meno! Your words for my song 'Resolve' really mean a lot to me. I've been so lucky to have connected with the community through the feels in this little song. I'm so proud and grateful to be a part of this incredible gathering that is Open Mic. Congrats to all the other songwriters and performers too.

@darrenclaxton Congratulations on being number 1! As if you're ever anything less! Keep on keeping on, mister! You know already how I feel about your stuffs. ♥ Hugs! Love your picks, @meno! ♥

You're a beautiful person inside and out! Thanks for the continued love Serena!
We must do a collaboration!

Wow!!! This is such a huge honor to be in your top picks list!! Thank you so much for the encouragement. 😃

Also... @darrenclaxton - your killing it!! Well deserved accolades on your original song.

Thanks doll! I always enjoy your performances!

Almost a household name of Steem :D

@coruscate! I have been meaning to tell you for awhile what a fan I am and I dont think i have done so yet... so let me say now.. BIG FAN! ♥♥♥ I love what you do, and your sister too!

Aww thanks @paintingangels!! That is so kind of you to say!

Gracias, rey @meno! Todo mi amor está contigo:

REVERENCIA (10).png

Love the music this week @meno and thanks for all you do for this community.

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 86 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

"I have no idea if that was the intention, if that was the emotions going through Samid's heart when he composed this piece, but that's how it spoke to me "

You really understood my intention:D Thank you so much meno.its an honour for me that you put me on your 4th place! have a great week i wish you the best. peace

Guao!! Que honor ver a un hermano amigo en tu top 5 @meno. @wilins eres el mejor \m/

Thank youuu so much for all the support!!!! Everything you said was beautiful! Xx Thank you Menooooo

Thank you for the accolades this week my friend. Another great week of music :)

Thank you @meno! I'm so glad you enjoyed the performance :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85