Open Mic Week 85 - Meno - Top 5 picks and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello my friends, Its Sunday night and sleep is trying to beat me to a pulp but I'm determined to win this fight and finish up my #openmic post. We had some awesome tunage as we normally do in our contest and I have to say I've rekindled my love for the ukulele a little more this week as well. Don't worry it will all make sense very soon.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@silentscreamer - Moving On (original song)

This is slowly but surely becoming my favorite musician team on our beloved platform. I would like to thank @silentscreamer for two main reasons: One for being so relentless and consistent, your spirit and drive is inspiring and two, because you entered a beautiful original piece that truly speaks to the heart.

I knew there was an original song inside of you waiting to be shared with us, I just knew it. Thank you guys for this little gem you've delivered.

Second Place.-

@lillywilton - Goodnight my love, Goodnight (Original Song)

Lilly, Lilly.... Lilly, you magical creature designed to torture those of us with weak hearts. I have to say, I'm not one to bounce in one leg when a ukulele is displayed across my screen but.... This song is perfect with a Uke, and performing it with another instrument would be like making tacos with soybean flour or something at that level of "wrong".

Absolutely stunning song, the high notes gave me goosebumps every single time.... @meno starts the slow clap

Third Place.-

@builtinfire - Tell me I'm wrong (original song)

Man.... What Happened? I got lost listening to this, the pain was so palpable I had to sit down (I have a standing desk). It's not the first time I've listened to a tune by @builtinfire that has showcased his unique vocals, but this is the first time get hacked my emotional composure.

This is how its done people.... leave nothing for later.

Fourth Place.-

@samidbarid - I want to return home (original)

Attempting to talk about this piece is futile, it can't be done properly, it just can't. This here ladies and gents is how soundscaping is done, its not only about playing the right notes or even having the right dynamics. Its that indescribable ability to communicate with music.

I felt like I was remembering the farm where I grew up, the good times, and then all of the sudden remembered grandpa was not around anymore. The place I knew, the home I remembered does not really exist in the same way anymore... What am I even talking about? I'm hitting play again... I have no idea but, this is beautiful.

Fifth Place.-

@normamanly - Spooky (cover)

This here my friends are three minutes of a groovy, groovy jam adorned with a voice of the silkiest of nature. I loved this little jam, I had to move sideways as I was typing this review and listening for the third time. It's that infectious and if you can listen without moving, get checked, there is a problem with you for sure.

I'm so happy to see @normamanly entering the #openmic competition again.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.


@paintingangels - Jumping Broken Fences


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.



And that is it for me and week 85, a little later than my last two weeks but I've been working on a little something something that I believe is going to do wonders for our amazing community. I hope to have something to show for before the sun shows radiates my face.

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

• New to Steem - Tip 5 - Steem or SBD's ?
• Went to a Theater last night, yes, my mind was blown
• sleepy qualie
• Here comes the Wind Again & Timeline Contradictions
• Try this on yourself

Sort:  

Whoa. You are way overvaluing 10% of those songs, let me tell you.

hahahahha that made me scratch my head for a second.... you did great bud... you did great!

Hi @meno I am honoured to be playing alongside the amazing talent that makes up Open Mic. Every week, the entries just blow my mind .Thank you so much for the kind words above. That performance would not have been possible without the mad bass skills and support from my friend @griptight who I see has not yet had his account activated. I'll need to touch base with him to see whats going on there. I hope to do more Open Mic with him. Thanks again. Truly appreciated man and thanks for all the time and effort you put into this contest to make it possible.

Enjoyed your entry quite a bit myself

You are too, too kind @meno. I'm going to honor the shit out of that slow clap ❤️Thank you again for your support here. It's super humbling and awesome to read.

Thank you so much meno. It's an honor to be your fourth. I have to be honest, I almost cried when I read your text to my video. I look forward to meeting you again here at steemit. Thank you.

All very awesome artists Meno and thanks for putting these together and so have people to listen to.

Thank you so much for the honorable mention, you're awesome, every week everyone of us works from the heart and when anyone do what we love and that love is recognized, the mission is complete.

So much love and good vibes for you.

Hehe. Yeeey. Thank you Meno. It was just wonderful working with Pechi. He has a serious talent for what he does and a very unique approach.
When he took out his crayons and started writing down my ideas you knew he means business. :D

So, he wrote this one with the crayons?

Haha. Apparently so. I think he keeps them in his drawer for the next time. When you have 10 thousand kilometers in between two people working on a song you have to be super creative when trying to understand what the other wants.
Thats where his crayons came into picture.
Haha, i know this makes 0 sense. :D

It got a little messy I must say....

awesome content @meno
@samidbarid - I want to return home (original)
i like it,,This is awesome,,His voice also superb//
Thanks for sharing

Hahahaha you just embarrassed yourself. I know you are fishing for upvotes and pretending to be nice, I get that.

But, you just picked the only song that had no vocals. Do you see? I'm not upset, it's a free world, this is funny actually. Maybe I should lie to you too. Let me return the favor.

Wowwww.... You make the best comment ever... Woowoowowow

nice everything you submit in this post. Thanks @meno

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45