Are you guys ready for the Songwriter Challenge?

in #openmic7 years ago

   Greetings and salutations my fellow Steemians, as some of you might know the open mic family led by the loved @luzcypher has been plotting a hostile takeover of the original music realm and its lackeys.

songwriters_contest_wanted_with_gorilla.png

   With the main idea of attracting more and more musicians to the Steemit platform we are going to be running a special kind of contest for original musicians. The first Steemit songwriter Challenge of its kind.

   Since this event will be ran under the Open Mic umbrella, our Dear @Luzcypher will be hosting it as well, the other two judges involved for this competition will be @krystle, @passion-ground.

   Aside from sponsoring the event I will also tackle the difficult task of being a judge, but I won’t be having any more say or weight than any of the participating judges, and of course will refrain from participating myself.

You might sit there and ask yourself… Has @meno lost his mind? Is this a good idea?

   Well, the way I see it is that the only way we can become the best social media platform on the internet is by growing our numbers. Cryptocurrencies are still somewhat of a mystery for many people in the world, and it can be hard for them to understand where the value comes from.

   With that in mind, running this event, and giving an acoustic electric guitar as the prize, seems a lot more grounded and interesting to those who have only heard the word bitcoin in passing. Just think about it, imagine how easy it would be for you to tell a musician friend of yours there is a contest on Steemit where you can win a guitar and it requires no purchase, and there is no catch.

You might also be asking to yourself… Are there enough songwriters on Steemit currently?

   About a month ago Luzcypher and I asked the community, and the response was overwhelmingly positive. So I'm confident there will be no shortage of entries for the contest.

   Make sure to follow @luzcypher as he will be announcing this week, when the official start will be, and all the rules that we all need to follow.

But starting today, let's begin to make some noise, and bring more original music this way!! What do you say?

MenO -01.png

Sort:  

YEAH!!! this is going to be awesome! my favourite part of openmic is hearing peoples original songs, so this is going to be a FEAST!!!!

I hope to hear your entries too brother!

oh you will be hearing! And thankyou for your donation to the vlogumentary you beautiful man! You are one of a number of true scholars who will someday soon be rewarded with an honourable knighthood and hallowed seat in the kingdom of the hippopotamus tree!

I have been anxiously awaiting this announcement after you and @luzcypher decided to launch after SteemFest. You are great for the musical community here, @meno! Bring on the themes! I'm ready to get to work!

I suspect that having a dynamic and well-defined thematic aspect as the foundation of this event, not only makes this contest a “SUPER-CHALLENGE,” it will also make it super fun, exciting, and entertaining!

Prolly gonna have to add a couple of more scoring categories to my spreadsheet for this songwriters venue. Okay, now - No More Work alright, @meno! Ha! :-)

You are so far beyond awesome for doing this meno, I love your initiative and your sheer generosity - whoever ends up winning this will be one lucky bugger.

Let's make this thing kick ass, speak soon - Cheers :)

Sounds like an amazing contest and real fun! More fun if there's a little musical arrangement for a little more challenge haha and for it to not look like a simple poetry, and not meaning to discourage but i saw some songwriting contests had plagiarizing issues and suing each other (i mean actual songwriting contests, not online). Also challenging for the hosts as well. But i'll support if it happens.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.14$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Fantastic @meno! This is going to be a lot of fun.

It's very generous of you to sponsor this great contest. Let's get the rules hashed out and I'll post it as soon as we can.

Woohoo! I'm a songwriter with no guitar. Not that I think I stack up to some of those other brilliant song-writing Steemians, but I'll be in for sure. Maybe I'll even use one of my serious songs. 😊

don't sell yourself short my friend, you have your style and there is no other you. It's going to be challenging for everyone to participate, we are going to change up the theme each week, and make sure that it won't be generic enough as to allow people to pull one from their memory vaults.

I'm looking forward to listening to your entries!

:)

Awesome, thanks for the support! Themes sound really fun, that will be a challenge.

Have you sold any guitars for SBD yet? I'll be looking for one soon, but I have carpal tunnel issues, so I need a 3/4 size that is super easy to play. I stopped playing guitar several years ago because it was pretty painful; that's why I'm always strumming a ukulele.

I would not be against selling one my guitars for SBD, as a matter of fact I was thinking of this idea... crazy idea... but it could be fun.

Making a series of one of my guitar builds, starting with me cutting the first lab, to the finished product and then doing something kind of like an auction for it for steem or sbd.

It would take months, but it could be super fun!

And regarding the 3/4 I have a parlor in stock, that is pretty comfy... you could also use some Silk & Steel Strings, they help a lot.

So same judges from open mic basically

minus 2 of them I guess, but thats because I want them to participate if they choose to do so... :)

I'm looking forward to it. Especially if there's a theme each week.

It's the best way we can make sure people don't submit old material, and have an advantage over another songwriter.

I agree with that. It should be totally merit based and in the moment.
Will the entries be live or studio recorded?

I think live would be best... same idea as the open mic, and for the same reason... level playing field

Live and raw. A good song is good song even stripped down.

nice post !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65