Steemit Open Mic Week 60 - Cover of "The Wanderer" by Amorphis

in #openmic7 years ago

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Greetings Steemians

I bring another cover this week from one of my favorite bands Amorphis. This song came out around 2013 and the lyrics and feel seemed to speak to me after the death of my wife. I felt like the man in this song for many years and in some ways I always will.



lyrics

 Behold this man on the road
The burden that he holds
He lost it all but still he carries on
The dead are left behind
On the road of pain and grief
Promises have been broken
Once again he's been deceived

Homeless man he is
A wanderer without a hope
Why this heavy burden
What does he seek
Homeless man he is
Searching for his dreams
Why this heavy burden
Lost all his beliefs

The Spirit Roams

Behold today the face of this man
He smiles now as he knows
He's burden starts to slowly fade away
He laughs at himself
Now it's easy to let go, of futile and the needless
To let it lie, to let it go 



I hope you enjoyed!

This will be the last cover  do for a while because I will be participating in @meno 's songwriter challenge for 8 weeks coming up very soon. Thanks @meno and @luzcypher for that as well as all the host and judges from open mic @pfunk and  @soundlegion @passion-ground @verbal-d @krystle  

Download my original stuff here https://morktra.bandcamp.com/

PEACE, LOVE, AND HORNS UP!


Sort:  

Loved the song! Never heard the original because I've just discovered the band very recently through Full Force Thursday. I intended to come visit you following last week's show, but it slipped out of my mind. Gladly, I just got reminded by finding​ you through Steemit Bloggers!

Thank you!
Yes, I really did Full Force Thursday and am very pleased I figured out how to listen in. @crimsonclad puts on a damn good show and her taste in metal is spot on.

My ears were burning! Thanks so much for tuning in. I'm in love with all of your covers and I'll be here haunting you forever.

Thank you. Glad to have you here haunting me forever 😀

somewhere in time/
I will find you and haunt you again/
like the waves sweep the earth/

Kamelot
You know I do request

This was a great cover, man - and a really cool song! (Never heard it before) ... I think each of us has had a bit of a "wanderer" like experience in our lives at one point or another - I know I have, and that's why I really dug this song, brother - especially the "let it lie, and let it go" part at the end!

Thank you!
I really dig this song as well and I do love the way the song ends. It is hard to let things go for us humans. Even though I try and fail a lot in doing that, it's a great thing to hope for.

Well said, brother - I feel you, man!

Great post! It is very nice to hear acoustic versions of metal songs. Very happy to have discovered your channel, great metal content! I really like your compositions too! Looking forward to hear more 🤘😎

Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed my channel and original content as well. Doing metal covers on the acoustic seems to have become sorta my shtick.

that was really good! thanks for joining us for open mic!!
i never heard that song before but i liked it! you have a really nice voice too!
i am upvoting you for sure! <3

Thank you very much!
I play the Steemit Open Mic every week by hook or by crook ;)

Awesome! I am new here.. so i haven’t really met everybody, but i am getting there ;)

Nice to meet you then.

Good song and you do well. Sometime you need to let it go but it is hard as hell sometimes to do. Thank.

Thanks brother
You're very much right. It is hard to let a lot of things go. Some things I will never fully let go. It is an impossibility.

love everytime your fingers hit the strings you have a real feel and tone in your playing, very familiar to you, great singing in this one great cover for you. brilliant loved it

I'm glad you liked it :)

I've never heard of this band or the song but I think you did a pretty great job with it. I definitely feel the pain. I'd love to hear your voice over a heavier backing.

Thank you very much!

Great sounding guitar track.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Great job brother, loved it, Great Vocal and music that solo part was amazing \m/

Thank you very much brotha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40