🎶 Steemit Open Mic Week 47 My Top 5 Selection 🎶

in #openmic7 years ago

So I have been a judge for several weeks now, but this is my first top 5 selection post - this will hopefully be a weekly post where I outline and explain my top 5 entries, for this weeks open mic competition.

There are five judges for open mic and we all have a varied backgrounds in music with different influences and styles, but one thing is clear we all love quality music and can appreciate the complex and different styles and types of entries.

This week it took me several hours to get through all of the entries (yes I listen to every single entry), then to have to select only five of you was a massive task - the process gets longer every week as the talent just keeps increasing exponentially.

Without further delay here is my top 5 selection for week 47:

1st Place: My first pick this week simply has to be the entry from steemian @addiesworld, with her amazing rendition of Imagine Dragons Radioactive.

The first thing I was hit by was her smooth and clear guitar, I was then blown away by her simply beautiful and amazing voice.

She has created her own unique sound with this song (a personal favourite too boot) causing it to have a more haunting sound, than the original and in my opinion her version is comparable if not better than the original.

I highly recommend all check out this highly talented steemian, she is bound to do great things here and I can't wait to hear further entries in this competition from her.


2nd Place: My second choice from this week's entries would have to be from @clintjunior, he has a really amazing original song called Hang The Prophet.

This song has such powerful lyrics and tells such an epic and tragically truthful tale, with an amazing chorus I can't help but sing along with - the song is so full of emotion and passion, you can't help but feel impacted by it's message.

His voice is clear and yet has an emotional rasp that makes you feel the lyric even deeper, I truly love this song and would love a write up of the lyrics so I could better sing along - I cannot recommend checking out this talented musician enough.


3rd Place: Next I have to mention the absolutely amazing original song from @trevorpetrie titled The Beauty Of Solitude, the sound and the lyric are simply stunning - inspired by the film Searching For Sugar Man.

The hook is dripping with emotion and passion, you can feel the tortured nature of sadness woven through the song - the pain of the struggling artist, who just wants appreciation for what they feel compelled to do.

I love the vocals so much, the melody adds so much depth and emotion to the song - you can feel the pain in the lyric and it's coupled beautifully with the melody and tune, definitely worth checking out this incredibly talented musician.


4th Place: I simply had to include this weeks entries from long time entrants @leoandbell, with a cover of Passengers - And I Love Her.

With faultless vocals and amazing guitar and violin combo, their high quality performances never fall short and always manage to wow me.

Their stunning performances bring an element of professionalism coupled with sheer musical talent, that appears effortless in spite of all the work that goes into each and every performance the duo complete.

I highly recommend you check them out if you enjoy high quality music performed well, I assure you they wont dissapoint.


5th Place: Last but definitely not least has to be this week's entry from @branhmusic, with his awesome original song Just Above.

Within moments I found myself bopping along to the tune, then by the chorus he had me singing along with him - a truly tragically beautiful song filled with emotion and passion.

I have loved many entries from this highly talented musician, with his own unqiue sound and style - I really suggest checking out his work.


Every week selecting just five entries is proving to be a difficult challenge, I find myself with countless tabs open trying to whittle down my choices.

I think this just goes to show how many amazing and talented entries we are getting, this competition is continuing to grow each and every week and with it the talent grows as well.

I have to say a big congratulations to all entrants you are doing amazingly well, so keep up the good work - you're making life as a judge harder but more enjoyable every week.

Open Mic is an amazing competition and opportunity for all those on the platform, no one loses when the results are brilliant music for all to enjoy and share.

There are so many amazing entries that I simply can't list (or I will have a massive post every week), but what I can assure you is this decision isn't easy and it certainly isn't taken lightly.

I scrutinize over every single entry, have they followed the guidelines to enter, was it perfectly in key, is a vocal or instrumental letting down the overall performance, is it original, high quality, was it performed well?

All of these and so many more until you are left with the list I have above, with so many amazing entries as a judge you have to try and find any fault to ensure only the best are represented each week.

I hope you all enjoyed my top five selection from this week's open mic contest, I wish you all luck with next week's competition and enjoy the tunes!

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

Thank you for this post @Krystle. I have seen Open Mic Week mentioned many times but I have never taken the time to check it out.

Bringing together these 5 gems in one post has really opened my eyes to the talent on steemit.

I particulary liked @addiesworld, @leoandbell and @branhmusic. Following them now and looking forward to hearing more of their music.

And I will definitely be checking out more Open Mic posts there - I am sure there are more eargems to be found.

Thank you 😊

Thanks for the awesome comment, the open mic contest is amazing so many brilliant entries each and every week - I love the entries I select and it is getting so hard to choose the best, as this competition grows.

I can't recommend checking out the rest of the entries when you get a chance, it's really amazing to see what amazing talents we have entering each week - cheers :)

I will follow you for sure as I am a singer songwriter and would love to do one of these!

OH MY GOSH! I am just seeing this now, but thank you so much. This post means the world to me and I am so grateful to this amazing community. I will be following a long with your page:) Thanks again!

I'm so happy you saw it I absolutely think your voice is amazing, as a singer I was blown away.

Thanks for the follow the moment I heard your entry I was following you :) good luck with future entries and steemit in general - Cheers :)

Oh wow! Thank you @krystlehaines I'm truly humbled by your words. I know I've said it before but this is such an amazing community. I feel blessed to be a part of it.

No worries at all I have really enjoyed your entries into the competition, plus it's awesome to have an Aussie help represent us in this - Cheers :)

Excellent choices @krystle. It is very hard picking winners from such a large talent pool. Thank you for all your help.

Thanks and yeah it is I had so many tabs open it took me over an hour just to reduce my choices, thanks for letting me be a part of this it's awesome - Cheers :)

Great picks @krystle! Nice write-ups too!

Thanks so much awesome to see other entrants checking out these posts and supporting one another, that is the goal of this competition - to encourage and enjoy good music, thanks for dropping by.

Cheers :)

I couldn't have said it better myself... And thank you!

Cheers :-)

Really good talents you can find here

There are so many amazing entries each and every week, I'm glad people are liking my selections - Cheers :)

A very appropriate choice .... i also love their show.

good post ! @krystle !

l like

All great picks!, i try to check all entries but its hard! too many!

beautiful voices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87