🎶 Open Mic Week 50 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic7 years ago

Welcome to another week of the open mic contest judges top five selection, it's hard to believe we are at week 50 already and as always so many amazing gems for us to find.

I'd like to thank @luzcypher and @pfunk for funding the contest, without your support this wouldn't be nearly as successful as it has become.

As well as a huge shout out to my fellow judges @soundlegion, @jessamynorchard and @verbal-d, you guys are amazing and each week it's awesome to see your selections and compare notes on the entrants.

Wow this week took a long time to curate all of the entries, there were some truly phenomenal entries this week and choosing five alone proves to be a task each and every week - without further delay...

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @sallyswitchblade - Bone Garden

I really loved this original unique sounding song, I love songs that tell a story and this song well and truly does that - there's such a haunting tone that suits the lyric perfectly.

I could really see myself wailing out with this song, I like the darker tones featured in the song - the story unfolds beautifully and sets a stunning but terrifying scene for the listeners.

The journey the song takes you on is impressive, the lyric manages to capture the mind of a serial killer - the need to be close to victims whilst feeling a sense of loss even regret for his actions.

I'm not sure if he really is relieved when he visits his bone garden, he is compelled to go but is filled with a form of remorse at least for one of his victims - the song can be interpreted so many ways, but I really love the tone, melody and lyric.

Absolutely amazing entry into this week's contest, a stand out song and performance - please check this performance out it was really outstanding.


2nd Place - @addiesworld - Be My Sugar

Yet again another breathtaking entry from the super talented @addiesworld, this song has a beautiful sweet tone to it - the rhythmic guitar couples perfectly with the lyric and melody.

I just love the super high notes with expert control she displays at every turn, with an upbeat tempo the she still manages to make you feel the emotion throughout the lyrics.

I am amazed by just how lucky we are to have such talented entrants every week, do yourself a favour and check out her latest entry.


3rd Place - @ray.luv.music - Desperado

Just an unrelenting wow man, I love this song and have listened to it countless times - the hook that had me would be the melody, I love some of the notes you hit the and the emotion that pours through them.

This was a brilliant entry and deserves some serious attention, the melody is awesome and I want to know the song better so I can sing along with it - @ray.luv.music you have some amazing control of your voice.

I am in love with the chorus, a simply beautiful falsetto featured with intricate trills weaved throughout - please check out this awesome entry.


4th Place - @kjablonski - Don't Let Me Win

Yet another amazing original entry from @kjablonski, she has such an amazing powerful voice - that makes you feel every word of the song.

Such quality songwriting and composition make her a force to be reckoned with, but coupled with her flawless vocals she is hard to beat.

If you haven't already heard her amazing voice or one of her brilliant original compositions, please check her out now.


5th Place - @drewly - Flying High

Another stunning piano entry from @drewly, what can I say I just love the journey his music takes me on - this week soft, sweet light and filled with hope almost.

Such a full sound for just one instrument, his compositions are amazing and complex - full of life and emotion without the need for lyrics.

If you haven't ever found yourself enjoying music on the piano, I suggest you give @drewly's work a listen and see the difference brilliant composition can achieve - check out his entries you wont be dissapointed.


Honourable Mentions:

So again this week there were just too many amazing entries to choose just five, so here are my special mentions.

@qiqi-power - My Only Sunshine

Simply an adorable entry, with such a beautiful sweet voice - from a very small but talented steemian welcome Qiqi.

@timothympratt - Set Fire To The Rain

Wow that is quite a song with such complex timing and very difficult and demanding notes, she did an amazing effort and definitely deserves a shout out - really beautiful voice with much promise.

@laizaqc - Zulian Dance

This song sounds complex vocally, I just love your voice - can't wait to hear your entry next week.

@senzenfrenz - Floating Sky

Your entries are always amazing, keep it up.

@corganmusic - Numbs Okay

I really like this entry, your voice couples perfectly with the guitar in this song - just awesome.

@elliotjgardner - I Can't Make You Love Me

You have such an amazing voice, I really love hearing your entries each week.

@papa-pepper - Yunk Up The Steem

Just for the lol's and @fraenk check out the googly eyes they made it to open mic now!


I have to cut myself off here, there are just too many great entries to list them all - I will continue to attempt to select the best each week, but with so much competition it is really a massive task.

I hope you all enjoyed this weeks selection of my top five and special mentions, but as always head over to @luzcyphers post to check out the rest of the brilliant musicions that played this week.

Also for all entrants of open mic I strongly suggest you head over to the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord chat room where you can not only access bots to vote on your posts, but you can meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded steemians.

Again a big thanks to the other judges, and @luzcypher and @pfunk for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Thank you @krystle for your kind words! I love writing music, even if it is a bit creepy. You describe the song perfectly!!

What a review! " the unrelenting wow man". I'm honored that u enjoy my music. It's fans like yourself that keeps us all making music. Thank you a bunch

They're all pretty good but the first one by @sallyswithblade was a cracker. And a great name for a band too!
Very well done to all the entrants, the talent arriving here is amazing.
Nice one Krystle

89 entries this week! Wow! Thanks for all you do for Steemit Open Mic. I really appreciate your energy.

Would you like to see Open Mic at SteemFest this year?

Thank you for the kind words! We are excited about entering week 51!

this is the kind of post that makes steem a great place, thank you for your hard work
b.a.

hi, nice to read about you.
i am, sajedul ahmed, from bangladesh,am also new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.
i have followed you. so, can also follow me plz.and plz upvoted my post.
best of luck...

perfect and well done:)

This post has been Finessed with a 6.25 % upvote from @ifinessemusic thanks to: @netgodbeerus.

Finessing a wide variety of Underground Hip Hop music videos, mixtapes and exclusive audio tracks from around the world. New Music Upvoted every 2.4 hours Send SBD to @iFinesseMusic with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote

Stay tuned and Follow @iFinesseMusic for Daily New Wave Hip hop Music Videos.

I like your post if you like flower you can follow me @muhajirusman my post about flower and traveling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65