๐ŸŽถ Open Mic Week 48 Judges Top 5 Selection - A Week Of Amazing Voices ๐ŸŽถ

in #openmic โ€ข 7 years ago

Here we are at Open Mic week 48, I really can't believe it has been 48 weeks already - there has just been such an amazing amount of high quality entries this week, you guys are making my job so hard.

I want to ensure that each and every week, that only the very best of the steemit Open Mic contest are presented to the community - I watch every entry and create a shortlist and then "try" to narrow the scope to my 5 allotted selections.

It can take hours just to listen to every entry, then I spend an insane amount of time going over my shortlist - before after a torturous time I relent and make my selection.

So without further delay, here is my top 5 selection for week 48 open mic contest:

@kjablonski - Zombie

Since I heard her first entry I knew @kjablonski would be an amazing force to be reckoned with in this competition, her performances have been of outstanding quality and always pitch perfect.

I love to sing along with her and this week was no exception, I absolutely loved her rendition of the Cranberries Zombie - she made song her own adapting it to suit her vocal style and choice, it was really amazing.

Her beautiful harmonies coupled with her soulful tones make this song a must hear, I really can't stress to steemians enough - check out this girl she can really sing.

@addiesworld - Halo

This is the second week in a row I have placed @addiesworld, because damn this girl can sing - she has an amazing high range and beautiful control, I enjoy all I see from her.

Her super high trills send shivers down my spine, there are moments in the song were I wonder how she is pulling this off live - I prefer her rendition which is amazing considering this is one of my favourite songs to sing along with, now she has provided me with a super fun challenge when my voice returns.

On top of it all she makes it look effortless and as a singer, I can assure you the notes she hits and the trills she pulls off are no easy feat - absolutely stunning voice and performance full of emotion, check it out to be blown away!

@laizaqc - Ahora

Whilst I fully admit I cannot understand a word of what she is singing, the true beauty of music is that when performed well it can transcend language - the notes, the tune and the melody take you on a journey.

When she hits the high notes there is a harmonic quality to her tone, it is simply angelic and again she makes it appear effortless - accompanied with gentle music the voice is the focus and does not fail to impress.

Her performance is dripping with emotion and passion, I just really love the amazing control and range she has access too - I really believe this performance is phenomenal and well worth checking out.

@elliotjgardner - Come Pick Me Up

From the very first word you can hear the amazing tonal quality of his voice, with less range in the melody - he manages to make moments where the notes rises slightly, to give the song a haunting and beautiful quality.

I don't know the song but I found myself wanting to sing along with him, in my mind always a great tell of the quality of a performer and performance is if I feel compelled to join in with them.

I have been watching his entries for several weeks now and without fail I have enjoyed pretty much every single one of them, he chooses great songs that can show of his vocal abilities - really a great performer worth heading over and checking out for yourself.

@trevorpetrie - Waiting For The Feeling To Come

What can I say I am just a sucker for this guys voice, he has a rather impressive range and a husky quality to his songs - it's like a clear rasp, just an awesome voice to hear and again to sing along with.

His original songs have never failed to impress me with beautiful well thought out lyrics, coupled perfectly with the melody and guitar - he really encapsulates the full package.

He hasn't been on steemit too long but has already managed to impress me several times, I feel as though his music is the gift that keeps giving - check out his music I promise it won't disappoint!


As I mentioned earlier this week was insanely difficult to choose just 5 entries, so here are my honourable mentions - these performances are as equally amazing, and worth taking the time to check out!

@aidarojaswriter - Bรฉsame Mucho

@calum - Rooster

@vachemorte - Parallel Dimensions

@drewley - Walking On a Sea of Glass

@fulcanelli - So Glad You're Here

@buckydurddle - 3 Irish Newfoundland Jigs


So there you have it this is my week 48 Open Mic top 5 selection, plus my six additional special mentions - I just loved so many performances this week, even with this extended list there are still people I left out that did amazing.

I will try to continue to provide an unbiased representation of the best performances entering the Open Mic contest, but as I'm sure many of you will understand there are just so many entries selecting just five feels restrictive - but not everyone can win unfortunately.

So if you haven't been selected yet please don't feel too bad, there are just so many amazing entries it is really hard to just pick five - you may be up there next week.

Thanks again to all who participate in the contest each week, you make our job as judges so enjoyable - we get to listen to so many talented artists and it's all because you guys enter, so thanks.

Also a big shoutout to my fellow judges @soundlegion, @verbal-d, and @jessamynorchard and of course the man who brought the competition together @luzcypher - thank you so much for starting this contest and for bringing us in, it has been a pleasure to take part.

Be sure to check out the official winners of Open Mic Week 48 tomorrow via @luzcypher

Don't forget to enter this week's Open Mic contest!

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort: ย 

Such kind words, and I think you made some great choices.. thank u so much for including me in this week's picks! ๐Ÿ˜ŠโœŒ๐Ÿผ

I'm so glad you saw them I've been a fan since the first entry of yours I saw, you deserve the recognition your voice is amazing.

By the way not sure if you have seen @luzcyphers post yet but, a massive congratulations you placed first overall in Open Mic week 48!

Absolutely deserved, I will be listening to your song again I'm sure - Cheers :D

Thank you, I did see that- shocked! Haha i love openmic :)

Seriously thank you. Crying right now because I am so honored! This means so much to me you have no idea! It feels so good to be able to share my talents with such an awesome community. You are the best!

Oh wow hun sorry it took me so long to get back to you and a massive congratulations it is very much deserved.

You have an amazing voice and show such emotion when you perform, you were a clear winner - Congratulations!

It was soo exciting for me to see me in this top by the side of great musicians. im super sure that if you could understand what the song say, you would enjoy it even more.
Thanks for this oportunity <3

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

You absolutely deserved the recognition, you have phenomenal control of your voice and it has a really beautiful quality to it.

I'm sure if I understood I would love it more too, probably won't stop my trying to sing along though lol :)

Congratulations!

Beautifully accounted for...

It really is a struggle each and every week, not going to get any easier I suppose - Thanks for participating in the comp. Cheers :)

I'M Agree Good

Thank you for taking the time to go through all the entries. I know how hard it is to pick from such talent and appreciate your efforts.

Thanks it does take a while, but weeks like this make it a pleasure to check them all out :)

Wow! great singers and musicians... I listened to all of them and the only videos I watched to finish was @elliotjgardner and @aidarojaswriter. They would be in my team if this was the voice.. LOL... My top pick would be Elliot Gardner. Great song, sang it on point, distinctive tone, you can listen to him on radio and know who it is... Great job..

I agree elliotgardner has an amazing tonal quality to his songs, I love his voice - he made the list again this week :)

Yeah great gift...

What a TREAT!

This is an incredible lineup.

Okay, so I'm really tempted to work on a song to share in one of these...

You should definitely give it a go, it's an amazing competition and we have some really talented entries - the community is super supportive so no real reason not too.

Cheers :)

All are great thanks for sharing

congrats to all 5 who select open mic contest

Very very looking music & video. it is really article. your this post 100% like and resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55