STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 48 - Come Pick Me Up - Ryan Adams (Cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

image
I enjoyed last weeks singing only session so much that I thought I'd do it again!

This week I chose come pick me up by Ryan Adams from his debut solo album 'Heartbreaker'. I recently started listening to the album after listening to this track from a curated playlist. It's a great album and still sounds really fresh after 17 years.

I suppose there's no expiration date on good songs!

Lyrics

When they call your name
Will you walk right up?
With a smile on your face?
Will you cower in fear?
In your favorite sweater
With an old love letter

I wish you would
I wish you would

Come pick me up
Take me out
Fuck me up
Steal my records
Screw all my friends
They're all full of shit
With a smile on your face
And then do it again
I wish you would

When you're walking downtown
Do you wish I was there
Do you wish it was me
With the windows clear
And the mannequins eyes
Do they all look like mine

You know you could
I wish you would

Come pick me up
Take me out
Fuck me up
Steal my records
Screw all my friends
Behind my back
With a smile on your face
And then do it again
I wish you would

I wish you'd make my bed
So I could make up my mind
Try it for sleeping instead
Maybe you'll rest sometime
Oh, I wish I could
I wish I could
I wish I could

I would have liked the backing track without the backing vocal attached but I wasn't really in the mood to request a custom edit - who knows what they'd charge?!

Thanks for listening.

Backing track from backingtrax.co.uk

Sort:  

Wow @elliotjgardner. I wouldn't have seen this other than for the resteem by @haleyaerith. I follow you, I just wouldn't have seen it due to time of post, etc.

I'm so glad that I did see it though. You've got some chops brother! Great job! Keep posting stuff like this and you'll be the next Steemit Idol!

Hey @sasha.shade, I know what it's like - so many posts in the feed has that effect.

Glad you liked it man, if it wasn't for Steemit I might never have come back to music!

Haha Steemit idol, not sure I'd go as far as to say that but let's see :)

wow. Very nice voice

you have a great great voice. great job

Hey @soundlegion, thanks for the positive feedback :)

Sounds great, never heard this song, but I enjoyed it..

Thanks @krazykrista, I've got a habit of picking obscure stuff. I think maybe I'll have to try doing some more we'll known songs. I guess the thing I like with open mic here is that people will still listen even if they don't know it!

Woah my man, didn't know you had such a voice! Great job man. I saw this from Haley's resteem :)

Keep it up. Talk soon!

Nice one @enazwahsdarb, looks like that resteem went quite a way!

Thanks for the kind words - hope everything is good with you.

Catch you around.

This post has received a 6.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @elliotjgardner.

Amazing performance. I love Bryan Adams and this song is a good one👍
I must say that I really liked your version almost more than the original 😉
You have a great voice and such soul in your voice and it reaches out... Hard to explain but thank you for sharing, it was a pleasure listening. Have a wonderful weekend and I Resteemed it so I can here it again.. Lol 😁

Thanks for the kind words @saffisara I'm glad you liked it.

Hope you had a great weekend

My pleasure it was a joy listening 😆 thank you for sharing. My weekend was great and I hope yours were to 😆 have a great week

Very nice voice mate!! Keep singing :-)

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 25.00 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @raphavongal. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47