Steemit Open Mic Week 64: ORIGINAL SONG "WINTER LULLABY" by Kay Clarity

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys: I'm really excited to share this song as it's one of my favourite originals, as well as in the tradition of Canadian folk music. It is about the pioneers setting up camp in the extreme winters of the Canadian prairies, and the haunting image of one little cottage or sod house in the stretching horizon of pure white, with no sign of other life for miles.

It is also my first time ever using and syncing external, better audio on my Blue Snowball mic--but all recorded simultaneously, and LIVE without any voice/pitch editing. It's also a TON more work to do the videos this way, so I won't always, but I may try to for the Open Mics, depending on the response this week.

I added a little reverb for the effect of the song, and, yes, will be working on perfecting the whole process so the quality only increases as I move forward--de-hissing, going a little easier on some effects, EQ, etc.--, but I'm excited to be finally stepping more into the essential tech aspects on making great videos! It's a big deal for me: tech used to be my nemesis, but necessity is changing that.

Now--ME, of all people-- I'm a crypto enthusiast and the producer of my album and many videos. It's good to grow & challenge yourself, people! I really encourage you to try new things that you either hate or of which think you aren't capable. I never thought I'd be able to handle and figure out all of the tech stuff I've done. Now I have a new album available as a result of just TRYING.

From my heart to yours. Thanks to all making the Open Mic such a success.. It is such an amazing thought of sending up our own little music industry here, and giving so many artists a real platform where they can share. Lyrics below!

Winter Lullaby

Winter's long, my dear
The snows just pile and pile
Winter's long, my dear
So sleep and sleep a while

A warm, little cottage in the wide, stretching white
Holds a babe and a mother in the thickness of night
Mama holds her little one safe
And every night she sings

Winter's long, my dear
The snows just pile and pile
Winter's long, my dear
So sleep and sleep a while

The sun creeps up at half past eight
And won't stay long past four
At the close of each, short, solemn day
She holds her babe and sings

Winter's long, my dear
The snows just pile and pile
Winter's long, my dear
So sleep and sleep a while

The night wind whistles days gone by
Long-covered in the snows
All else, so still, waits patiently
For spring, while mama sings

Winter's long, my dear
The snows just pile and pile
Winter's long, my dear
So sleep and sleep a while

Winter's long, my dear
The snows just pile and pile
Winter's long, my dear
So sleep and sleep a while

Copyright 2017

Want to hear more music or get this song? It's available, with more of my songs, for streaming and purchase here.

Xx,
Kay

Thanks for following @kayclarity if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems.

Sort:  

Beautiful!! your voice is amazing , I felt every word you sang , what a nice interpretation and your pitch control is incredible , this was very relaxing, touching and inspiring. Thank you for sharing :) .

Thanks so much for your kind words! I really appreciate it! Xx, Kay

I couldn't agree more! I was totally captivated by this performance!

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it. xx

Such a beautiful voice.. really captivating that I shall follow

Thank you for the kind words, and for taking the time to listen through and comment :). xx, Kay

a vocal that stands out my friend really gorgeous singing. and the song is beautiful especially for the holidays . fantastic

LOVE this song, so haunting and beautiful.

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it! :). xx!

You're welcome. The sound. It's perfect for a movie.

About your formatting. Notice how your views on Youtube and here are out of whack? I did, so I looked into it.

Rather than sharing the link as you have it, embed the video instead. I think the easiest way is to simply right click directly on your video while in Youtube. You're given a menu. Select "copy embed code" and paste that entire mess into the editor here. That should give you a more accurate count.

You're the best! I was wondering about that; it wasn't overly bothering me, but it did feel a little like a waste. Thanks - I will definitely try that out next time!

With enough views on Youtube, over time, that potential ad revenue might come in handy. I guess I'm one of those people. If I see a quarter on the ground, sure, I'll pick it up. If I see a fiver fall out of someones pocket, sure, I'll let them know.

Awesome. Because the ones I use for Steemit aren't usually set to public, I don't think they are monetized, or if they are, only minimally. I made about $1.37 CAD last month on monetization lol.

But.. every penny can start adding up :). Trying to figure it out now for my next post!

It does add up. I see you tried it out. I hope it works as intended. Also, to extend your shelf life(Steemit, in general, has a really short attention span. Not the people, the platform), try Stumbleupon. People will "stumble upon" your content for years to come.

If you ever want to see how another member here is formatting, simply replace the 'it' in Steemit with a 'd'.

Example: https://steemd.com/openmic/@kayclarity/steemit-open-mic-week-64-original-song-winter-lullaby-by-kay-clarity

Whoa - crazy. That's interesting and will probably be helpful! Stumbleupon is a separate website or..?

I did try it! Grateful for the tip - I had no idea (obviously).

7 pennies (x14!) for you to keep adding up!

Very nicely done!

Thanks so much for taking time with my work. I'm glad I could share it with you :). xx, Kay

Beautiful! The reverb is perfect for this. It accentuates the haunting quality of your performance.

Thank you! That is what I was hoping for :). Thanks for listening and commenting! xx, Kay

Another stunning performance!

You made my Official Judge’s list for my Top 5 picks for Open Mic Week 64

Check this link to my post to read the full review
https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-64-original-blog

That's excellent, you have a great voice. What kind of guitar is that if you don't mind me asking? It looks ridiculously similar to mine which sounds great but was a ridiculous bargain

It's a Lag, out of a company in France! I love it. I got it when the company was just taking off for cheap.. I haven't checked back, but the quality definitely feels like something worth at least 3x what I paid!

Lol, that does sound a bit like mine, alhough it isnt a Lag. It sounds beautiful as does your voice. Very haunting. Your voice not the guitar that is. That would just be spooky lol!

haha :). Thank you so much! Really glad I was able to share it with you and that you enjoyed it :)

And thanks for the compliment :)

It's beautiful, @kayclarity!
I felt it.
<3

Thanks :). Happy to be able to share it! xx, Kay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36