Open Mic Week 117: "River" by Joni Mitchell (cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey friends!

Here is a cover of Joni Mitchell's "River." She is from my (very small, Canadian) hometown and I had the chance to play in the first place she ever played publically--totally cool.

This one is perfect to post in time for Christmas :).

Hope you enjoy!

River by Joni Mitchell

It's coming on Christmas, they're cutting down trees
They're putting up reindeer and singing songs of joy and peace
Oh, I wish I had a river I could skate away onBut it don't snow here, it stays pretty green
I'm gonna make a lot of money, then I'm gonna quit this crazy scene
I wish I had a river I could skate away onI wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh, I wish I had a river I could skate away on

I made my baby cry
He tried hard to help me, you know, he put me at ease
And he loved me so naughty, made me weak in the knees
Oh, I wish I had a river I could skate away onBut I'm so hard to handle, I'm selfish and I'm sad
Now I've gone and lost the best baby that I ever had
Oh, I wish I had a river I could skate away onI wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh, I wish I had a river I could skate away on

xx,
Kay

Follow me, k? @kayclarity

You can also find me on YT, FB, and IG as well as MeWe.

Sort:  

Really great job with that song. I can tell that you are not just some hack singer. Your lessons are showing. Really nice. Merry Christmas.

haha :). Thanks! Merry Christmas to you as well!

I love Joni, this is a beautiful version, merry xmas! Thank you....

Glad you enjoyed! Thank you & Merry Christmas!

Hello my dear friend @kayclarity, fantastic performance and Happy New Years to you!

I included you in my Judge's Post for Week 117, check the full review out for your entry here

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-117-original-blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30