Open Mic Week 6: Kings - Original Ukulele song about having no real role models in our modern timessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic8 years ago

This song means a lot to me. I wrote it after watching a video about different stages in life for men and how we are lacking guidance so we get often stuck in the first phase, or even try to rush to the third one, which then causes problems.
I was aware of this concept before but this video (by Elliot Hulse) spoke to me on a deep level and I was touched, I even cried. Just different words were used, but these words meant a lot to me. They were speaking directly to my soul.

We no longer have any real strong role models
(like kings, knights, Gandalf's with pointed hats ... Where are all the Gandalfs?)

So I hope you enjoy this song about lost "sages", kings,lost generation of men and realizing there is still one person with all the answers.

It is also part of an OpenMic so if you vote for me on this post and on my comment here you would help to get this song and its message to more people.

Thank you

Lyrics

**Chorus:**
We are waiting for our sage,
The pointed hats are gone, I am in rage; 
There was no induction to show us our path,
What are we to do ... 
 
What it's like to,
be a king,it seems like we forgot to,
take the power from within
Where are the elders,
our generation is lost, 
there are no dragons to slay,
so now you're just a cog;

There is no point ,
in being someone else ,
There is no glory,
in following the herd, 

There is no princess waiting,
at the end of the walked path,
There is no freedom in being,
someone else's pawn;
So don't be a shepherd if you,
are destined to be king,
Pull that sword out of the stone,
and engage the warrior within;  

**Chorus:**
We are waiting for our sage,
The pointed hats are gone, I am in rage; 
There was no induction to show us our path,
What are we to do ... 

Just be a man, be who you want to be;
Follow the path of self discovery; 
Be free

The tribes are gone,
There is no right or wrong, 
Feel your darkness,
That's when you will be strong; 

No one will show you,
how to be a real man, 
It's up to you

You don't know what it's like to be free,
Until the time you find your destiny;

So don't be just a reflection of a man 
Choose your destiny 

Chorus: 
I was waiting for my king,
I didn't know that he is within, 

When I feel strong emotions I am often inclined to play an instrument and sing it out. And I liked what was coming out so I decided to write it down before I forget and work on it straight away. Often I get inspired to have an amazing first verse, then I write it down but I never get back to finishing that given song. Probably because the state of mind that made me come up with that verse in the first place is gone when I go back to it. So I am glad I didn't make the same mistake here, too.

I also really like that I didn't use the same pattern all the time either. Cause often I just repeat 4 chords. It's easier. Especially as I still have to work on singing and playing at the same time. (And singing overall, if anyone has tips let me know).

Let me know your thoughts, what does this song/lyrics mean to you? Do you feel the same?

All the best,

Joe


If you want to know how I modify my Images, check out my post about a tool I created


Always 100 % SP Posts


About the Author;

Hi, I am Joe and I love freedom.
Freedom of all sorts, social, financial, emotional, physical, freedom from your stuff or place.
My biggest passion is to show that it is possible to live life being free, work towards my freedom, and help others obtain their own versions of freedom.
I also love exploration and experimentation (of all senses).
My articles are about all of this (Freedom, exploration, experimentation)
as well as my own transparent and authentic experiences.

Sort:  

Joe votes for me, I vote for Joe. Thanks Bro ... good work here !

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29