OpenMic week 11 - jaybird - Original Song Demo "Light it Up"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic8 years ago

Heyy, I got something entered 2 weeks in a row Woohoo!

Open Mic Week 11.png

This one is an older tune which I initially wrote for another band. It didn't make the cut but I still love it and wanted to share it with the steemit community.

This is a bare bones version with my terrible guitar playing lol. I sort of screwed up going into the bridge, but otherwise I think it's a pretty good version.

Enjoy!

Jaybird ~

Sort:  

Hello @jaybird,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Would like to add that I really enjoyed your song. Nice job!

Ha thank you! The Steemit Community has played a large convincing roll in my releasing them actually. I used to only do so once one of my bands or a project I wrote for used the composition...

Awesome! Thanks for the support Steemtrail !

Good singing, good song!

Nice song I enjoyed this one, I don't think the guitar playing was too bad at all, but you seemed like you were straining your voice a lot on this one. Don't hurt your voice box too much, but if you get a chance, always do some warmups and singing runs before you record. Sometimes it's difficult because after a few takes, the voice wears down if its pushed too hard. I try and warm up as best as I can to avoid injury. You can just youtube search some singing warm ups depending on your preference of teacher, and I find it helps to drop the jaw, raise the eyebrows and keep chin down, with your airway clear, yet aiming towards the top of your roof in your mouth as the sound travels out when attempting high notes with either chest or falsetto voice. Best of luck to your entry and thanks again for entering back to back. Upvoted!

Ya man, i didn't really warm up for this one...guilty. Sort of just had the inspiration to sing it then and there and went for it right after my morning coffee (the worst time). Was also going for a more gritty vocal texture (in this particular tune) so I'm sure that didn't help either. I fond that my # 1 prob is that when I'm playing another instrument simultaneously, my singing technique goes out the wazoo. Too much going on. They say I should stick to drums ;) Thanks for you feedback though! Your observations are indeed spot on. Doing some more vocal lessons would indeed help. Speaking of which when are you starting Steemit vocal lessons :)

I'm glad you take my constructive criticism well, I only mean to help you improve your sound quality the same way my fellow brothers and sisters in the music world help me with their input and suggestive words of advice. Making vocal lessons here on steemit isn't a bad idea, I've thought about it before. Maybe very soon, but as of right now, this week, I've caught some respiratory virus from my two year old daughter who infected my whole family from some boy in her kindergarten who was sick and singing or rapping for me has been difficult, and somewhat painfully sore. However, I hope I heal up soon as symptoms last up to 3 weeks! Thanks for the tip, and I'll map out some ideas for vocal lessons shortly and keep you up to date on them. :) Steem On bro

Really enjoyed your song thanks for posting man.

My pleasure. Glad you enjoyed ~

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Happy New Years bro,

Hope all is well since I haven't seen you online.

I finally posted the first part of my vocal lessons we talked about earlier. Hope it helps you!

https://steemit.com/originalmusic/@verbal-d/ex-homeless-man-with-the-platinum-voice-and-singing-vocal-techniques-tips-original-lesson

Hey D, All is going well thx, hope it is for you too! I was in the U.S. for vacation these past 2 weeks and had spotty internet so was M.I.A. Good stuff getting these vocal lessons started brotha. Keep it up! Yooooooo lol

Thank you all is well bro. Hope you had a nice vacation and that the vocal lessons help you out. Be on the look out for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48