You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 70 (cover) Michael Jackson

in #openmic7 years ago

Hell yeah, man! I loved Michael growing up. What a cool song, and interesting instrument to play it on. What made you choose that song and instrument? Was it something you had practiced in particular for a certain event or ceremony? Just curious :)

Sort:  

hello friend, I'm glad you liked it, and I tell you, this particular issue I chose for the current location of my country Venezuela, I think that to save the world I must start here first, the instrument, electric mandolin, made by me and about 4 months, greetings brother!

Duude.. you made that?? That's freakin awesome!! So cool :) . And what better reason for the song, than to promote healing your home. Wonderful.. But back to the mandolin.. I am so impressed. I actually have been playing guitar for almost twenty years, and just last year starting building them myself.. Here are a couple I made: tele1.JPGFlyv2.JPG

and check out my open mic, too if you'd like! Jimi Hendrix :) https://steemit.com/openmic/@gjones15/steemit-open-mic-week-70

ttyl

They are as they say here in Venezuela they are "in their ink" very good work, they look impeccable 2 and how do they sound?

Th e tele on left is sold, but it played wonderfuly. I still have the flying V which is the first I ever owned (coming from an SG) and it playes just like a Gibson. Except the neck is crazy-accessible--look how long it is!! It's definitely a "lead" friendly guitar. Oh, and not sure if I mentioned, but the bodies came pre-made--I just put everything together, assembly, set-up electronics, etc. and finished the wood. I hope to one day make one from scratch though. What kind of wood is your mandolin?

one has a body of saman, mast of a wood called puy, its characteristics are similar to maple the other (the one used in the video you publish) has a body of mahogany and mast also puy, the microphones also made them clear not the reels but if I embobine them to my liking, and well I did practically completely

Wow. That is beautiful, man.. what do you use to get it polished like that? What did you finish it with?

polyurethane, the first 2 layers I used sandpaper 1500, the third layer sandpaper 2000 and the last layer, I used polishing for cars and I gave it with cotton until the finished

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63